The city of Leipzig

Leipzig Skyline
Leipziger Skyline © Michael Bader, Leipzig Travel

With 584,775 inhabitants, Leipzig is the largest city in the Free State of Saxony and Germany's tenth largest city. For Central Germany, it is a historical centre of economy, trade and transport, culture, education and science as well as for the "creative scene".

Leipzig's tradition as an important trade fair location in Central Europe with one of the oldest trade fairs in the world dates back to 1190 and was closely linked to Leipzig's long-standing role as the international centre of the fur trade. Leipzig is home to one of the oldest universities (founded in 1409) and the oldest colleges for both trade and music in Germany. Leipzig has a great musical tradition, which goes back to the work of Johann Sebastian Bach and Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy, and today is based on the importance of the Gewandhaus Orchestra and the St. Thomas's Boys Choir.

UofLeipzig Augustusplatz
Universität Leipzig

Resulting from the "Monday demonstrations" in 1989, which gave a decisive impulse for the sociopolitical change and the end of communism in the German Democratic Republic (East Germany), Leipzig was described as a hero city. The informal award for the courageous and peaceful commitment of many citizens in the vicinity of Leipzig's St. Nicholas Church shaped the city's reputation after the fall of communism and is taken up in city marketing under the motto "Leipzig Freedom". In addition, Leipzig is known for its wealth of lavishly restored and reconstructed buildings and cultural monuments and canals, the highly diverse zoo, and the Leipziger Neuseenland (New Lakeland of Leipzig), which was created through the repurposing of former open-pit coal mines.

fassade-michael-fischer-art_andreas-schmidt_leipzig.travel_ausschnitt
Wandgemälde (Ausschnitt) von Michael Fischer-Art, © Andreas Schmidt, Leipzig Travel

Educational institutions such as the University of Leipzig and the Leipzig University of Applied Sciences make the city one of the most popular locations in Germany for university students. In addition to the Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research - UFZ, numerous other research institutions such as Leibniz Institutes,  iDiv, Bio City Leipzig, the institutes of the Max Planck Society and the Fraunhofer Society are also located here.

The city lies in the middle of a former inland delta, which was repeatedly altered, for example, by the construction of mill ditches (Mühlgräben) and flood protection facilities. In the 1950s, the Pleißemühlgraben and part of the Elstermühlgraben - in the Middle Ages artificial tributaries of the two rivers Pleiße and Weiße Elster, which were used to operate mills in the Middle Ages - were piped or backfilled due to pollution by industrial waste water from lignite processing south and upstream of Leipzig, so that Leipzig partially lost its character as a river city. The discharge of highly toxic waste water had resulted in the rivers being biologically dead. Since the beginning of the 1990s when the main industrial contributors of water pollution ceased activities, both river courses have been gradually uncovered again. Today, there are about 141 kilometres of perennial watercourses within the city area, in addition to intermittent streams and ditches.

Plagwitz-Buntgarnwerke_Andreas-Schmidt_leipzig.travel
Plagwitz Buntgarnwerke, © Andreas Schmidt, Leipzig Travel

Along the rivers,  an extensive alluvial forest area runs in a north-south direction through the city, which was partly transformed into parks in the middle and close to the city centre. The alluvial forest forms a climatically, ecologically and recreationally relevant green link from the surrounding area of Leipzig to the city centre and, despite centuries of direct anthropogenic influence, has preserved a rare flora and fauna. The close link between the floodplain forest and urban development is a unique selling point of Leipzig in Europe.

-> Leipzig Tourism

Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research - UFZ

Connewitz_Floßgrabenmündung
Leipziger Floßgraben im Auwald, foto: Martin Geisler (CC BY-SA 3.0)

As an international competence centre for environmental sciences, the UFZ investigates interactions between humans and nature under the influence of global change. The research is focused on terrestrial environment, densely populated urban and industrial metropolitan areas, agricultural landscapes and near-natural landscapes. They examine questions of future land use, the conservation of biological diversity and ecosystem services, the sustainable management of soil and water resources and the effects of chemicals on humans and the environment - from the scale of individual cells and organisms to regional scale.

UFZ Leipzig 2
UFZ Standort Leipzig, © Sebastian Wiedling, UFZ

In six thematic clusters, they deal with water resources, ecosystems of the future, environmental and biotechnologies, chemicals in the environment, modelling and social science issues. The UFZ employs about 1,100 people at its locations in Leipzig, Halle and Magdeburg. It is financed by the federal government as well as by the states of Saxony and Saxony-Anhalt.

The goal is to demonstrate ways of dealing sustainably with the natural foundations of life for the benefit of mankind and the environment.

Thema: Grundwasser
© André Künzelmann, UFZ

The 65 scientists of the thematic area "Water Resources and Environment" observe, analyse and model the water cycle in its different compartments. They seek to quantify the water supply in selected catchment areas, as well as investigate which substances from natural and anthropogenic sources enter the water cycle on which paths, how they are transformed along flow and transport paths, and which processes are dominant and decisive for water quality and ecological status. In addition, these researchers aim to qualitatively and quantitatively record the functions of aquatic and terrestrial ecosystems for the water and matter balance and the safeguarding of biological diversity in such a way that goes beyond merely describing their conditions.

Direct-Push-Technologie
Direct-Push-Technologie, © André Künzelmann, UFZ

 

-> UFZ Geländeplan

 

This article is partly based on the articles Leipzig and Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research - UFZ from the free encyclopedia Wikipedia and is licensed under the double license GNU Free Documentation License and Creative Commons CC-BY-SA 3.0 Unported. A list of authors is available in Wikipedia.

hochwasser_Auenwald
Hochwasser im Auwald, © André Künzelmann, UFZ

Sources of the images used: Leipzig Travel, pixabay, UFZ and Wikipedia.

Die Stadt Leipzig

Leipzig Skyline
Leipziger Skyline © Michael Bader, Leipzig Travel

Leipzig ist mit 584.775 Einwohnern die größte Stadt im Freistaat Sachsen und Deutschlands zehntgrößte Stadt. Für Mitteldeutschland ist sie ein historisches Zentrum der Wirtschaft, des Handels und Verkehrs, der Kultur, Bildung und Wissenschaft sowie für die „Kreativszene“.

Leipzigs Tradition als bedeutender Messestandort in Mitteleuropa mit einer der ältesten Messen der Welt geht auf das Jahr 1190 zurück und war eng mit der langjährigen Rolle Leipzigs als internationales Zentrum des Pelzhandels verknüpft. In Leipzig befinden sich eine der ältesten Universitäten (gegründet im Jahr 1409) sowie die ältesten Hochschulen sowohl für Handel als auch für Musik in Deutschland. Leipzig verfügt über eine große musikalische Tradition, die vor allem auf das Wirken von Johann Sebastian Bach und Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy zurückgeht und sich heute unter anderem auf die Bedeutung des Gewandhausorchesters und des Thomanerchors stützt.

UofLeipzig Augustusplatz
Universität Leipzig

Im Zuge der Montagsdemonstrationen 1989, die einen entscheidenden Impuls für die Wende in der Deutschen Demokratischen Republik (DDR) gaben, wurde Leipzig als Heldenstadt bezeichnet. Die informelle Auszeichnung für den so mutigen wie friedlichen Einsatz vieler Leipziger Bürger im Umfeld der Leipziger Nikolaikirche prägte den Ruf der Stadt nach der Wende und wird beim Stadtmarketing unter dem Motto „Leipziger Freiheit“ aufgegriffen. Darüber hinaus ist Leipzig für seinen Reichtum an aufwändig sanierten bzw. rekonstruierten Kulturdenkmalen und städtischen Kanälen, den artenreichen Zoo sowie das durch Rekultivierung ehemaliger Braunkohletagebaue entstehende Leipziger Neuseenland bekannt.

fassade-michael-fischer-art_andreas-schmidt_leipzig.travel_ausschnitt
Wandgemälde (Ausschnitt) von Michael Fischer-Art, © Andreas Schmidt, Leipzig Travel

Bildungseinrichtungen wie u. a. die Universität Leipzig und die Hochschule für Technik, Wirtschaft und Kultur machen Leipzig zu einen der beliebesten Standorte Deutschlands für Studenten. Neben dem Helmholtz-Zentrum für Umweltforschung - UFZ kommen zahlreiche weitere Forschungseinrichtungen wie z.B. iDiv, Bio City Leipzig, die Institute der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, und der Fraunhofer Gesellschaft sowie die Leibniz Institute hinzu.

Die Stadt liegt inmitten des Leipziger Gewässerknotens, einem ehemaligen Binnendelta, das z. B. durch die Anlage von Mühlgräben und Hochwasserschutzanlagen häufig umgestaltet wurde. In den 1950er Jahren wurden der Pleißemühlgraben und ein Teil des Elstermühlgrabens – im Mittelalter für den Betrieb von Mühlen teilweise künstlich angelegte Nebenarme der beiden Flüsse Pleiße und Weiße Elster – wegen der Verschmutzung durch Industrieabwässer aus der Braunkohleverarbeitung südlich von Leipzig verrohrt oder verfüllt, so dass Leipzig seinen Charakter als Flussstadt teilweise verlor. Die Einleitung der hochgiftigen Abwässer hatte dazu geführt, dass die Flüsse biologisch tot waren. Seit dem weitgehenden Ende der gewässerverschmutzenden Industrie zu Beginn der 1990er Jahre werden beide Flussläufe nach und nach wieder freigelegt. Heute verlaufen rund 141 Kilometer ständig wasserführende Fließgewässer innerhalb der Stadtfläche, hinzu kommen nur temporär wasserführende Bäche und Gräben.

Plagwitz-Buntgarnwerke_Andreas-Schmidt_leipzig.travel
Plagwitz Buntgarnwerke, © Andreas Schmidt, Leipzig Travel

Entlang der Flüsse zieht sich ein ausgedehntes Auwaldgebiet in Nord-Süd-Richtung durch die Stadt, das im mittleren Bereich zum Teil in Parks umgestaltet wurde. Der Auwald bildet eine klimatisch, ökologisch und für die Erholungsversorgung relevante Grünverbindung vom Leipziger Umland bis in die Kernstadt und hat trotz des jahrhundertelangen unmittelbaren anthropogenen Einflusses eine selten gewordene Flora und Fauna bewahrt. Die enge Verknüpfung zwischen Auwald und städtischer Bebauung ist ein Alleinstellungsmerkmal Leipzigs in Europa.

-> Leipzig Tourismus

Helmholtz-Zentrum für Umweltforschung – UFZ

Connewitz_Floßgrabenmündung
Leipziger Floßgraben im Auwald, foto: Martin Geisler (CC BY-SA 3.0)

Als internationales Kompetenzzentrum für Umweltwissenschaften untersucht das UFZ Wechselwirkungen zwischen Mensch und Natur unter dem Einfluss des globalen Wandels. Die Forschungsarbeiten konzentrieren sich auf die terrestrische Umwelt– auf dicht besiedelte städtische und industrielle Ballungsräume, auf Agrarlandschaften sowie naturnahe Landschaften. Sie befassen sich mit Fragen künftiger Landnutzung, der Erhaltung von biologischer Vielfalt und von Ökosystemdienstleistungen, dem nachhaltigen Management von Boden- und Wasserressourcen und der Wirkung von Chemikalien auf Mensch und Umwelt – von der Ebene einzelner Zellen und Organismen bis auf die regionale Skala.

UFZ Leipzig 2
UFZ Standort Leipzig, © Sebastian Wiedling, UFZ

In sechs Themenbereichen befassen sie sich mit Wasserressourcen, Ökosystemen der Zukunft, Umwelt- und Biotechnologien, Chemikalien in der Umwelt, Modellierung und sozialwissenschaftlichen Fragestellungen. Das UFZ beschäftigt an den Standorten Leipzig, Halle und Magdeburg circa 1.100 Mitarbeitende. Es wird vom Bund sowie von Sachsen und Sachsen-Anhalt finanziert.

Das Ziel ist es, Wege für einen nachhaltigen Umgang mit den natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen zum Wohle von Mensch und Umwelt aufzuzeigen.

Thema: Grundwasser
© André Künzelmann, UFZ

Die 65 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des Themenbereichs „Wasserressourcen und Umwelt“ beobachten, analysieren und modellieren den Wasserkreislauf in seinen unterschiedlichen Kompartimenten. Sie wollen zum einen das Wasserdargebot in ausgewählten Einzugsgebieten quantitativ erfassen. Zum anderen wollen sie untersuchen, welche Stoffe aus natürlichen und anthropogenen Quellen auf welchen Pfaden in den Wasserkreislauf gelangen, wie sie entlang der Fließ- und Transportpfade umgesetzt werden und welche Prozesse dominant und für die Wasserqualität und für den ökologischen Zustand entscheidend sind. Sie wollen außerdem die Funktionen aquatischer und terrestrischer Ökosysteme für den Wasser- und Stoffhaushalt und die Sicherung der biologischen Vielfalt qualitativ und quantitativ so erfassen, dass sie über eine reine Zustandsbeschreibung hinaus gehen.

Direct-Push-Technologie
Direct-Push-Technologie, © André Künzelmann, UFZ

 

-> UFZ Geländeplan

 

Dieser Artikel basiert teilweise auf den Artikeln Leipzig und Helmholtz-Zentrum für Umweltforschung – UFZ aus der freien Enzyklopädie Wikipedia und steht unter der Doppellizenz GNU-Lizenz für freie Dokumentation und Creative Commons CC-BY-SA 3.0 Unported. In der Wikipedia ist eine Liste der Autoren verfügbar.

hochwasser_Auenwald
Hochwasser im Auwald, © André Künzelmann, UFZ

Quellen der verwendeten Bilder: Leipzig Travel, pixabay, UFZ und Wikipedia.