Groundwater and Catchments - Processes, Data and Models

The Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research will host the 27th conference of the FH-DGGV from 25 – 28 March 2020. The theme of the conference – Groundwater and Catchments  – focuses on the role of groundwater at a large spatial scale. As a transmitter and reactor, groundwater in catchments transports matter from the subsurface into rivers. The extent to which small-scale transport and turnover processes affect the large scale often remains unclear.

Groundwater is a national resource which must remain protected and useable in the long term, especially in light of advancing climate change with increasing weather extremes such as heat waves and drought. Efficient groundwater management requires bringing together data as well as recognizing and describing processes in order to eventually develop robust models able to predict future conditions. To this end, we need an integrated approach that connects different scientific disciplines and approaches to research.

The FH-DGGV Conference 2020 provides a platform to professionals from research, government, industry and organizations to exchange ideas and experience and present their findings. In 13 sessions, aspects of monitoring, data analysis, process research and modelling will be presented. Advanced training courses and excursions build upon the lecture and poster programme. We look forward to your contributions and an exciting conference in Leipzig.

The Organising Team of the FH-DGGV Conference 2020

Grundwasser und Flusseinzugsgebiete - Prozesse, Daten und Modelle

Vom 25. bis 28. März 2020 ist das Helmholtz-Zentrum für Umweltforschung Leipzig Gastgeber der 27. Tagung der FH-DGGV. Das Thema der Tagung „Grundwasser und Flusseinzugsgebiete“ fokussiert auf die Rolle von Grundwasser auf größerer räumlicher Skale. Grundwasser steuert in Flusseinzugsgebieten als Transmitter und Reaktor Stoffflüsse vom Boden in die Flüsse. Dabei ist oft nicht klar, wie sich kleinskalige Transport- und Umsatzprozesse auf der großen Skale integrieren.

Grundwasser ist eine nationale Ressource, die auch im Zuge des Klimawandels mit zunehmenden Extremen wie Hitzewellen und Dürren dauerhaft geschützt und nutzbar bleiben muss. Für ein effizientes Management ist es notwendig, Daten zusammenzubringen und Prozesse zu erkennen und zu beschreiben um letztlich robuste vorhersagefähige Modelle zu entwickeln. Hierfür brauchen wir einen integralen Ansatz, der verschiedene wissenschaftliche Disziplinen und Forschungsansätze zusammenbringt.

Auf der FH-DGGV-Tagung 2020 wollen wir Fachleuten aus Forschung, Behörden, Industrie und Verbänden ein Podium bieten, um sich auszutauschen und ihre Ergebnisse vorzustellen. In 13 Sessions werden dazu Aspekte von Monitoring, Datenanalysen, Prozessforschung und Modellierung aufgegriffen. Dabei wird das Vortrags- und Posterprogramm durch Fortbildungsveranstaltungen und Exkursionen ergänzt. Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Beiträge und eine spannende Tagung in Leipzig.

Das Organisationsteam der FH-DGGV Tagung 2020