Filmvorführung

Date: Friday, 27 March 2020, 15:00, Telemann-Saal

“Pani Check – The Sisterhood of Water” and “Pani Doctors – Join the Sisterhood of Water”

The transdisciplinary cooperation between hydrogeologist Theresa Frommen from Freie Universität Berlin and freelance filmmaker Katalin Ambrus resulted in two films about a participatory and interdisciplinary hydrogeological project in India (2016-2019). Showing will be the 52-minute documentary and the 10-minute educational film, which was co-written with the Indian protagonists. The films highlight the sometimes unusual challenges faced by hydrogeolgists when working with local communities as well as the importance of new forms of science communication. The premiere of the films took place in May 2019 in Berlin (https://acudmachtneu.de/events/1379/pani-check-pani-doctors-water-women-and-film/) where it received positive Feedback.

Following each showing, there will be a Q&A session.

Pani Check

Film_Pani_Check

Rekha Devi and Zeenat Begum have a problem: the scant water in their slum is polluted. German hydrogeologist Theresa Frommen is asked to help. But can illiterate women learn the scientist’s complicated methods? And is she prepared to get involved in the social structures of an Indian slum?

 

Pani Doctors

Film_Pani_Doctors

The Indian slum Khara Kuaa transforms into a colorful theater stage as Rekha Devi, Zeenat Begum and their neighbors unpack the scientific water test kit. An educational musical developed in collaboration with the women from two slums in Jaipur, who participated in a hydrogeological model project.

 

Film_Theresa_Frommen

Theresa Frommen studied Geological Sciences with a focus on Hydrogeology at Freie Universität Berlin, RWTH Aachen University and University of Manchester. After completing her Master’s degree, she became a research associate and doctoral student at the Hydrogeology Group, Institute of Geological Sciences, FU Berlin, doing research about participatory methods in hydrogeology with a focus on India. She lived and worked from September 2016 to January 2018 in Jaipur, Rajasthan. Since September 2019, Theresa is a Postdoc at IRI THESys, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, within the group of Prof. Dr. Tobias Krüger in the frame of the Geo.X Young Academy “Geo.Society”.

 

Film_Katalin_Ambrus

Katalin Ambrus, born in Romania, is currently mostly living in Berlin. After having worked as a journalist for the public broadcasters ARD, ARTE and rbb and the independent newspaper taz, she is now dedicating herself to artistic and experimental projects and to collaborations with NGOs, currently in India, Ecuador and Colombia. Her interactive web documentary “The Sand Mine” has been shown at many film festivals worldwide, including DOK Leipzig, FIPA Biarritz, the Melbourne Documentary Film Festival or the STIFF Seattle. She has received many awards including the Goldene Kamera Digital Award and she has been nominated for one of the most prestigious awards in Germany: The Grimme Online Award.

Filmvorführung

Termin: Freitag, 27.03.2020, 15:00 Uhr, Telemann-Saal

“Pani Check – The Sisterhood of Water” und “Pani Doctors – Join the Sisterhood of Water”

Aus der transdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit zwischen der Hydrogeologin Theresa Frommen, Freie Universität Berlin, und der freischaffenden Filmemacherin Katalin Ambrus, sind zwei Filme über ein partizipatives und interdisziplinäres hydrogeologisches Projekt in Indien (2016-2019) entstanden. Zu sehen sind der 52-minütige Dokumentarfilm und der 10-minütige Motivations- und Lehrfilm, der gemeinsam mit den indischen Protagonistinnen entstanden ist. Die Filme zeigen auf, welchen ungewohnten Herausforderungen Hydrogeolog*innen in der Zusammenarbeit mit der lokalen Bevölkerung begegnen können, aber auch wie wichtig neue Formen der Wissenschaftskommunikation sind. Die Premiere der Filme fand im Mai 2019 in Berlin statt (https://acudmachtneu.de/events/1379/pani-check-pani-doctors-water-women-and-film/) und konnte ein durchweg positives Feedback verzeichnen.

Im Anschluss findet jeweils eine Q&A Session statt.

Pani Check

Film_Pani_Check

Rekha Devi und Zeenat Begum haben ein Problem: Das wenige Wasser in ihrem Slum ist verschmutzt. Die Hydrogeologin Theresa Frommen wird um Hilfe gebeten. Aber können Analphabetinnen die komplizierten Methoden der Wissenschaftlerin lernen? Und ist die Naturwissenschaftlerin in der Lage, sich auf die sozialen Strukturen eines indischen Slums einzulassen?

 

Pani Doctors

Film_Pani_Doctors

Der indische Slum Khara Kuaa verwandelt sich in eine farbenfrohe Theaterbühne, als Rekha Devi, Zeenat Begum und ihre Nachbarinnen den wissenschaftlichen Wasserprobenkoffer auspacken. Ein pädagogisches Musical, entstanden in Zusammenarbeit mit den Frauen aus zwei Slums in Jaipur, die an einem hydrogeologischen Modellprojekt teilnahmen.

 

Film_Theresa_Frommen

Theresa Frommen hat an der Freien Universität Berlin, der RWTH Aachen und der University of Manchester Geologie mit dem Schwerpunkt Hydrogeologie studiert. Nach ihrem Masterabschluss war sie als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin und Doktorandin in der Arbeitsgruppe Hydrogeologie, Institut für Geologische Wissenschaften, FU Berlin, tätig und forschte über partizipative Methoden in der Hydrogeologie mit Schwerpunkt Indien. Sie lebte und arbeitete von September 2016 bis Januar 2018 in Jaipur, Rajasthan. Seit September 2019 ist Theresa Postdoc am IRI THESys, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, in der Gruppe von Prof. Dr. Tobias Krüger im Rahmen der Geo.X Young Academy "Geo.Society".

 

Film_Katalin_Ambrus

Katalin Ambrus, geboren in Rumänien, lebt derzeit überwiegend in Berlin. Nachdem sie als Journalistin für die öffentlich-rechtlichen Sender ARD, ARTE und rbb und die unabhängige Tageszeitung taz gearbeitet hat, widmet sie sich nun künstlerischen und experimentellen Projekten und der Zusammenarbeit mit NGOs, derzeit in Indien, Ecuador und Kolumbien. Ihre interaktive Web-Dokumentation "The Sand Mine" wurde auf vielen Filmfestivals weltweit gezeigt, u.a. bei DOK Leipzig, FIPA Biarritz, dem Melbourne Documentary Film Festival oder dem STIFF Seattle. Sie erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, darunter den Goldene Kamera Digital Award und wurde für einen der renommiertesten Preise in Deutschland nominiert: den Grimme Online Preis.