Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

Faculty for Biology, Chemistry and Earth Sciences

Department of Biology Education - Prof. Dr. Franz X. Bogner

print page

CHEMICALLY based Cannibalism (1989-1996)

Chemical Ecology

From 06/1989 to 05/1996


Chemical Ecology on the specific example of Utetheisa
With the heading “Insects as caring parents” Eisner entitled the natural history of the moth Utetheisa in 1988. The larvae prefer Crotalaria –plants as food plants. Not only they tolerate the toxic Pyrrolizidin alkaloids but also store them by themselves. This acquired chemical freight functions as a chemical defence against potential predators. Additionally, these alkaloids serve as essentially precursor of the male pheromone Hydroxydanaidal for the adults because alkaloid-free animals can not synthesise it (Eisener & Meinwald, 1987): Without Hydroxydanaidal, Utetheisa males are widely chanceless to mate (Conner et al., 1990). Because during the mating process enormous amounts of the alkaloid are transferred, this male pheromone amount provides specific information for the mating female about a male’s alkaloid-donor. Cannibalism in Utetheisa
a) Biohazard of the eggs: Utethesia larvae eat eggs of their own species, especially when these eggs contain the alkaloid and when they own just few amounts. If the larvae had accessed already this alkaloid, either through natural feeding or through a special diet in a lab experiment, they will eat definitely less but they will still prefer eggs which contain alkaloids. Concerning the food enemies, outdoor experiments show that only alkaloid-containing clutches are widly save. Utethesia eggs contain 1 - 2 ng alkaloid (on average) as parental investment which guarantees a protection against predators until they produce it by themselves after hatching (that is why Eisner [1988] talked about caring parents). For newly hatched larvae (that means very small larvae) the amounts within the eggs are definitely substantial, particularly, when many clutches with different alkaloid content (cause of different parents) are on one and the same forage crop. However, for fully grown larvae the alkaloid uptake through egg cannabilism is of no consequence, because they are able to gain particularly access to seed filled with alkaloid (Bogner & Eisner 1991).
b) Cannibalism of the larvae: Whereas for Utheisa-eggs the parental transfer provides the only alkaloid source, in the course of a larvae life alkaloids will be up taken through eating food plants and stored afterwards. Thereby, variations definitely exist, especially if the food plants have only few seeds, the greatest alkaloid amounts on a plant. Especially at these seeds, single outdoor observations of cannibalism are possible. Thereby, one can see larvae, which already have been eating inside a Crotalaria, were eaten by another one. Lab experiments with alkaloid-free and alkaloid-containig breeded larvae show that cannibalism takes place especially when big alkaloid-free larvae (5. moult stadium) meet small alkaloid-containing ones.
c) Biohazard of the pupae: Very effective in the view of alkaloid-absorption is the eating of pupae from the own species. Pupae from a lab alkaloid diet breeding contain about 630ng alkaloid. This means that just one cannibalism act will almost last to compare the limited access to this substance during larval life: Alkaloid-free breeded larvae have saved ca 530ng alkaloid in their own body tissue after eating a alkaloid-containing pupa which shows a very effective transfer. Lab experiments showed clearly the alcoid-driven cannibalism tendency despite the significant pupal cuticula barrier. The danger of cannibalism could be the reason that Utetheisa-larvals usually pupate apart from their forage crops although they are chemically safed from food enemies (Details in Bogner & Eisner 1992). Considering the meaning of the alkaloid in the life of Utetheisa, a plenty of alkaloid always should be an advantage. Captured wild animals show considerable fluctuations in the systemic alkaloid content which traces back to different accesses to herbal alkaloid resources. However, the optimization of the acquired protection is not always an advantage because the danger of cannibalism can grow with increasing alkaloid content in the own body. The winners of the alkaloid accumulation can become quickly the loosers during an inter-species competition by recognizing through the primary loosers which were previously described. Obviously, there is a balance between the chemical protection and upcoming danger of cannibalism. There will be situations where a maximum uptake of herbal alkaloids is an advantage for the best protection of robbers and advanced chances of propagation (high robber density, many forage crops with a huge alkaloid amount) and others, where inter-species eatening the biggest danger is (alkaloid-need, high population density of Utetheisa).

see also Eisner, T: For Love of Insects., Harvard University Press (2005)



List of publications of this Project

Bogner, FX: Interspecific Advantage Results in Intraspecific Disadvantage: Chemical Protection versus Larval Cannibalism in Utetheisa ornatrix (Lepidoptera: Arctiidae)., Journal of Chemical Ecology, 22, 1439-1451 (1996) -- Details
Bogner, FX; Eisner, T: Chemical Basis of Pupal Cannibalism in a Caterpillar (Utetheisa ornatrix)., Experientia, 48, 97-102 (1992) -- Details
Bogner, FX; Eisner, T: Chemical Basis of Egg Cannibalism in a Caterpillar (Utetheisa ornatrix)., Journal of Chemical Ecology, 17, 2063-2075 (1991) -- Details
Bogner, FX; Boppré, M: Single cell recordings reveal hydroxydanaidal as the volatile compound attracting insects to pyrrolizidine alkaloids., Entomologia Experimentalis et Applicata, 50, 171-184 (1989) -- Details
FacebookTwitterYoutube-KanalBlog
This site makes use of cookies More information

Sprungmarken

 

CHEMISCH ausgelöster Kannibalismus (1989-1996)

Chemical Ecology

Von 06/1989 bis 05/1996


Chemische Ökologie am Beispiel von Utetheisa ornatrix
Mit dem Titel „Insekten als fürsorgliche Eltern“ hat Eisner (1988) die Naturgeschichte des Bärenspinners Utetheisa überschrieben. Dessen Raupen fressen bevorzugt auf Crotalaria- Pflanzen. Sie können deren giftige Pyrrolizidinalkaloide nicht nur tolerieren, sondern sogar selbst speichern. Diese erworbene chemische Fracht wirkt sich als chemischer Schutz gegenüber potentiellen Freßfeinden aus. Darüber hinaus fungieren diese Alkaloide bei den erwachsenen Männchen als essentielle Vorstufe des Männchen-Pheromons Hydroxydanaidal, da alkaloidfrei gezüchtete Tiere dieses nicht bilden können (Eisner&Meinwald 1987): Ohne dieses Hydroxydanaidal sind Utetheisa-Männchen bei der Paarungssuche weitgehend chancenlos (Conner et.al. 1990). Da beim Paarungsvorgang in der Spermatophore erhebliche Mengen des Alkaloids transferiert werden, kann davon ausgegangen werden, daß dieses Männchenpheromon dem paarungsbereiten Weibchen Auskunft über die Alkaloidspender-Kapazität des Männchen gibt.Kannibalismus bei Utetheisa.
a) Gefährdung der Eier: Utetheisa-Raupen fressen Eier der eigenen Art, vor allem wenn diese das oben beschriebene Alkaloid enthalten und wenn sie selbst noch wenig davon gespeichert haben. Hatten die Raupen bereits Zugang zum Alkaloid, sei es über Futterpflanzen oder über eine spezielle Diät im Laborversuch, fressen sie zwar deutlich weniger, aber immer noch bevorzugt an alkaloidhaltigen Eiern. Was die Freßfeinde betrifft, so zeigen Freilandversuche, daß nur die alkaloidhaltigen Eigelege weitgehend sicher sind. Utetheisa-Eier enthalten als elterliche Investition im Schnitt 1-2µ Alkaloid, die einen Schutz vor Räuber gewährleisten können, bis nach dem Schlüpfen selbständig Alkaloid aufgenommen werden kann (deshalb spricht Eisner [1988] von fürsorglichen Eltern). Für frisch geschlüpfte, d.h. sehr kleine Raupen sind diese in den Eiern vorhandenen Mengen durchaus substantiell. Das gilt insbesondere, wenn viele Eigelege mit unterschiedlichem Alkaloidgehalt (da von unterschiedlichen Eltern) auf ein und derselben Futterpflanze vorhanden sind. Für ausgewachsene Raupen dagegen fällt die Alkaloidaufnahme über den Ei-Kannibalismus nicht mehr allzusehr ins Gewicht, zumal diese sich Zugang zu den sehr alkaloidhaltigen Samen der Futterpflanze verschaffen können (Bogner & Eisner 1991).
b) Kannibalismus der Raupen: Während bei den Utetheisa-Eiern nur der elterliche Transfer die Alkaloidquelle sein kann, wird im Laufe des Raupenlebens das Alkaloid über die Pflanzennahrung aufgenommen und dann gespeichert. Dabei kann es durchaus zu großen Schwankungen kommen, vor allem wenn Futterpflanzen nur wenige Samen haben und die größten Alkaloidmengen in einer Pflanze schwanken. Gerade an solchen samenarmen Pflanzen konnten die Einzelbeobachtungen des Kannibalismus im Freiland gemacht werden, bei denen jeweils Raupen, die bereits innerhalb einer Crotalaria-Frucht am Fressen waren, von einer anderen gefressen wurden. Laborversuche mit alkaloidhaltigen und alkaloidfrei gezüchteten Raupen zeigen, daß Kannibalismus vor allem dann auftritt, wenn große alkaloidfreie Raupen (5. Häutungsstadium) auf kleine alkaloidhaltige treffen. Entsprechende Freilandversuche zum Raupenkannibalismus stehen noch aus.
c) Gefährdung der Puppen: Besonders effektiv im Hinblick auf die Alkaloidaufnahme ist das Fressen von arteigenen Puppen. Puppen aus Laborzuchten auf alakaloidhaltiger Diät enthalten rund 630µg Alkaloid, wodurch ein einziger Kannibalismusfreßakt fast ausreichen würde, einen während der Raupenzeit entgangenen Zugang zu dieser Substanz wieder auszugleichen: Alkaloidfrei gezüchtete Raupen hatten nach dem Verzehr einer alkaloidhaltigen Puppe rund 530µg Alkaloid im körpereigenen Gewebe gespeichert, was auf einen sehr effektiven Transfer hinweist. Das Freßverhalten der Raupen in Wahlversuchen unter Laborbedingungen ergab eindeutige Ergebnisse trotz der erheblichen pupalen Kutikulabarriere. Die Kannibalismusgefahr könnte mit ein Grund dafür sein, daß sich Utetheisa-Raupen in der Regel abseits ihrer Futterpflanzen verpuppen, obwohl sie vor Freßfeinden chemisch geschützt sind (Details in Bogner&Eisner 1992). Angesichts der Bedeutung der Alkaloide im Leben von Utetheisa sollte ein Mehr an Alkaloid immer von Vorteil sein. Gefangene Freilandtiere weisen aber große Schwankungen im systemischen Alkaloidgehalt auf, was auf einen unterschiedlichen Zugang zu den pflanzlichen Alkaloidquellen zurückgeführt wird. Allerdings muß die Optimierung des erworbenen chemischen Schutzes nicht immer von Vorteil sein, da mit zunehmendem körpereigenen Alkaloidgehalt die Gefahr des Kannibalismus wachsen kann. Die ´Gewinner´ bei der Akkumulation dieser Alkaloide würden nämlich als erste Gefahr laufen, ´Verlierer´ einer innerartlichen Konkurrenz zu werden, indem sie von den ursprünglichen ´Verlierern` der oben beschriebenen Alkaloidaufnahme erkannt und ´genutzt´ werden können. Offensichtlich besteht eine Balance zwischen chemischen Schutz bzw. Chancen im Fortpflanzungserfolg und auftretender Kannibalismusgefahr: Es mag Situationen geben, wo maximale Aufnahme der pflanzlichen Alkaloide von Vorteil ist für einen optimalen Schutz vor Räubern und für verbesserte Fortpflanzungschancen (hohe Räuberdichte, viele Futterpflanzen mit hohem Alkaloidanteil), und andere, wo innerartliches Gefressenwerden die größere Gefahr darstellt (Alkaloidmangel, hohe Populationsdichte von Utetheisa).

siehe auch Eisner, T: For Love of Insects., Harvard University Press (2005)



Publikationsliste dieses Projekts

Bogner, FX: Interspecific Advantage Results in Intraspecific Disadvantage: Chemical Protection versus Larval Cannibalism in Utetheisa ornatrix (Lepidoptera: Arctiidae)., Journal of Chemical Ecology, 22, 1439-1451 (1996) -- Details
Bogner, FX; Eisner, T: Chemical Basis of Pupal Cannibalism in a Caterpillar (Utetheisa ornatrix)., Experientia, 48, 97-102 (1992) -- Details
Bogner, FX; Eisner, T: Chemical Basis of Egg Cannibalism in a Caterpillar (Utetheisa ornatrix)., Journal of Chemical Ecology, 17, 2063-2075 (1991) -- Details
Bogner, FX; Boppré, M: Single cell recordings reveal hydroxydanaidal as the volatile compound attracting insects to pyrrolizidine alkaloids., Entomologia Experimentalis et Applicata, 50, 171-184 (1989) -- Details

Letzte Änderung 07.07.2009