The City and Region of Karlsruhe

In 2015, Karlsruhe celebrates its 300th anniversary. With nearly 300,000 inhabitants, it is the biggest city of Baden. Due to its unique fan-shaped layout with 32 roads proceeding from the castle like a fan, Karlsruhe is also known as “Fächerstadt” (the fan-shaped city). Karlsruhe hosts the Federal Constitutional Court and the Federal Court of Justice and, hence, is deemed the City of Law. Due to its warm and sunny climate, its vicinity to France, and the excellent groundwater quality, the region of Baden is known in general for good eating, good wine, good beer, and a high quality of life. Karlsruhe also is a city of knowledge, of engineering, and invention: The bicycle was invented by a Karlsruhe citizen (Karl Drais), as was the car (Carl Benz). Electromagnetic waves were discovered at the University of Karlsruhe (Heinrich Hertz) and the first systematic hydrogeological dye tracing test was performed by a Karlsruhe citizen, the Professor of Geology, A. Knop, in 1877.

-> Tourist Information Karlsruhe

Upper Rhine Valley and Black Forest

Karlsruhe is located in the Upper Rhine Valley, a tectonic rift valley with big groundwater reservoirs, a number of thermal springs, and a high geothermal potential. The Rhine, its floodplains, flooded gravel pits, and fens characterize the water landscape in the closer surroundings of Karlsruhe.

Karlsruhe is also considered the gate to the Black Forest. In early 2014, the Black Forest National Park was launched, the first and only national park in Baden-Württemberg. The densely wooded mountainous area covers about 100 km² and includes a number of lakes and waterfalls in the northern Black Forest. It can be reached from Karlsruhe within less than an hour.

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) was established on October 01, 2009 by a merger of Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe and Universität Karlsruhe. With about 24,500 students, 9,400 employees, and an annual budget of EUR 800 million, KIT is one of the biggest institutions of research and higher education in natural sciences and engineering in Europe.

The University of Karlsruhe was established in 1825 as the first technical university in Germany. Among its founding fathers was Johann Gottfried Tulla, whose correction of the river Rhine in the early 19th century was one of the biggest engineering achievements of that time. From the very beginning, water was in important topic at the University of Karlsruhe. Today, water research is represented by a number of disciplines at KIT and covers the complete scope from natural sciences to social sciences to engineering. It is closely connected to applied geosciences, climate and environmental research and renewable energies at KIT.

Apart from water research at KIT, Karlsruhe also hosts other important water institutions, such as the Bundesanstalt für Wasserbau (BAW, Federal Waterways Engineering and Research Institute), the Technologiezentrum Wasser (TZW, Water Technology Center), the Hochwasserzentrale der LUBW (Flood Center of the Baden-Württemberg State Agency for the Environment, Measurements, and Nature Conservation), and the Stadtwerke Karlsruhe (Karlsruhe Municipal Utilities).

-> Plan of Campus South of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (the central building with the conference office is the Audimax).

Schloss Karlsruhe
Audimax
Ehrenhof KIT
  Botanic Garden
Audimax
Botanischer Garten 2

Stadt Karlsruhe und Umland

Karlsruhe feiert 2015 seinen 300. Stadtgeburtstag und ist mit fast 300.000 Einwohnern die größte Stadt Badens. Aufgrund seines einmaligen geometrischen Stadtplans mit 32 strahlenförmig vom Schloss ausgehenden Straßen, ist Karlsruhe auch als Fächerstadt bekannt. Karlsruhe ist Sitz des Bundesverfassungsgerichts und des Bundesgerichtshofs und gilt daher als Stadt des Rechts. Aufgrund des warmen und sonnigen Klimas, der Nähe zu Frankreich und des hervorragenden Grundwassers ist die Region Baden insgesamt für gutes Essen, guten Wein, gutes Bier und eine hohe Lebensqualität bekannt. Karlsruhe ist auch eine Stadt des Wissens, der Technik und der Erfindungen: Das Fahrrad wurde von einem Karlsruher erfunden (Karl Drais), ebenso wie das Auto (Carl Benz). Die elektromagnetischen Wellen wurden an der Universität Karlsruhe entdeckt (Heinrich Hertz), und auch der erste systematische hydrogeologische Markierungsversuch wurde 1877 von einem Karlsruher durchgeführt, dem Geologie-Professor A. Knop.

-> Karlsruhe Tourismus

Oberrheingraben und Schwarzwald

Karlsruhe liegt im Oberrheingraben, der weltweiten Typlokalität eines tektonischen Grabens, mit bedeutenden Grundwasservorkommen, zahlreichen Thermalquellen und einem hohen geothermischen Potential. Der Rhein, die Rheinauen, zahlreiche Baggerseen und Niedermoore prägen die Wasserlandschaft in der näheren Umgebung von Karlsruhe.

Karlsruhe gilt auch als Tor zum Schwarzwald. Anfang 2014 wurde der Nationalpark Schwarzwald ins Leben gerufen, der erste und einzige Nationalpark in Baden-Württemberg. Der Park umfasst ein etwa 100 km² großes waldreiches Berggebiet mit zahlreichen Karseen und Wasserfällen im Nordschwarzwald, weniger als eine Stunde von Karlsruhe entfernt.

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist am 1. Oktober 2009 durch den Zusammenschluss des Forschungszentrums Karlsruhe und der Universität Karlsruhe entstanden. Mit etwa 21.000 Studenten, mehr als 9.000 Beschäftigten und einem Jahresbudget von 800 Millionen Euro gehört das KIT zu den größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen.

Die Universität Karlsruhe wurde 1825 gegründet und war Deutschlands erste technische Hochschule. Zu den Gründervätern gehörte Johann Gottfried Tulla, dessen Rheinkorrektur Anfang des 19. Jahrhunderts zu den größten Ingenieurleistungen seiner Zeit gehörte. Wasser war also ab Anfang ein wichtiges Thema an der Universität Karlsruhe. Heute ist die Wasserforschung am KIT mit zahlreichen Disziplinen vertreten und umfasst die gesamte Bandbreite von den Naturwissenschaften über die Sozialwissenschaften bis zum Ingenieurwesen, eng verzahnt mit den Angewandten Geowissenschaften, der Klima- und Umweltforschung und den erneuerbaren Energien am KIT.

Neben der Wasserforschung am KIT sind hier auch andere wichtige Wasserinstitutionen in Karlsruhe zu nennen, wie die Bundesanstalt für Wasserbau (BAW), das Technologiezentrum Wasser (TZW), die Hochwasserzentrale der LUBW und natürlich die Stadtwerke Karlsruhe.

-> Campus-Lageplan des Campus Süd des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie  (Hauptgebäude mit Tagungsbüro ist das Audimax)
Schloss Karlsruhe
Audimax
Ehrenhof KIT
Botanischer Garten
  Botanischer Garten 2