Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

Faculty for Biology, Chemistry, and Earth Sciences

Soil Physics - Prof. Dr. Andrea Carminati

print page

Soil drying and salinity stresses in crops under drip irrigation: effect of root and rhizosphere hydraulic properties on leaf water potential

BMBF 02WIL1489

From 09/2018 to 08/2021

Principal Investigator: Andrea Carminati, Nimrod Schwartz
Staff: Gaochao Cai, Mohanned Abdalla Ali

Rational: Root water uptake (RWU) accounts for ~80% of the total terrestrial evapotranspiration, affecting crop growth and yield, hydrological processes, carbon cycle and more. Despite the importance of this process, relatively little is known about the interactions between the soil and the plant and the impact of this interaction on RWU, especially under water drought and saline conditions.

Objectives: The objectives of the proposed research are to identify in what conditions RWU becomes limiting, how root and rhizosphere properties affect crop tolerance to drying and salinity stresses, which root and rhizosphere traits allow reducing abiotic stresses, and which irrigation management can result in optimal stress tolerances in tomatoes.

Methods: To reach these objectives, we design an innovative experiment that includes simultaneous measurements of water potential in the plant and the soil at both the laboratory (picture1, 2) and field scale. In addition, we also develop physically based models that allow the interpretation of the experimental results and testing scenarios.

lab-pressure-chamber

Applications: A decision support system that will integrate the results of the study and will recommend optimal irrigation management will be developed. The experimental findings can be used as a platform to design breeding of root systems for optimal drought tolerances.

close-up-tomato-sapflow



FacebookTwitterYoutube-KanalBlog
This site makes use of cookies More information

Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

Fakultät für Biologie, Chemie und Geowissenschaften

Bodenphysik - Prof. Dr. Andrea Carminati

Seite drucken

Bodenaustrocknung und Versalzung in Kulturen unter Tropfbewässerung: Einfluss der hydraulischen Eigenschaften von Wurzel und Rhizosphäre auf das Wasserpotenzial der Blätter

BMBF 02WIL1489

Von 09/2018 bis 08/2021

Projektleiter: Andrea Carminati, Nimrod Schwartz
Mitarbeiter: Gaochao Cai, Mohanned Abdalla Ali


Ziele: Ziel der vorgeschlagenen Forschung ist es, herauszufinden, unter welchen Bedingungen die WWA einschränkend wird. Insbesondere, wie die Wurzel- und Rhizosphären-Eigenschaften die Toleranz der Pflanzenbestände bei Trockenstress und Salzgehalt beeinflussen; und welche dieser Merkmale die Verringerung abiotischer Spannungen ermöglichen und welche Bewässerungsmaßnahmen bei der Tomatenkultur zu optimalen Belastungstoleranzen führt.

Methoden: Um diese Ziele zu erreichen, entwerfen wir ein innovatives Experiment, das simultane Messungen des Wasserpotentials in der Pflanze und im Boden sowohl im Labor (Bild 1) als auch im Feldmaßstab beinhaltet. Darüber hinaus entwickeln wir physikalisch basierte Modelle, die die Interpretation der experimentellen Ergebnisse und Testszenarien ermöglichen.lab-pressure-chamber

Praktische Anwendung: Es soll systematischer Entscheidungsbaum entwickelt werden, welches die Ergebnisse der Studie integriert und ein optimales Bewässerungsmanagement empfiehlt. Die experimentellen Ergebnisse können als Plattform verwendet werden, um die Züchtung von Pflanzen-Wurzelsystemen mit optimaler Dürretoleranz zu gestalten.

close-up-tomato-sapflow



FacebookTwitterYoutube-KanalBlog
Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. weitere Informationen