Uni-Bayreuth grafik-uni-bayreuth

Sprungmarken

 

Investigations on mycorrhizal associates and nutritional resources of mycoheterotrophic orchids in Taiwan

DFG GE 565/9-1

From 09/2018 to 10/2021

Principal Investigator: Gerhard Gebauer

About 1 % of all orchid species is achlorophyllous and depends on mycorrhizal partners for carbon and mineral nutrient supplies throughout their entire life cycle. These achlorophyllous orchids are known as mycoheterotrophic plants. In temperate and boreal forests, mycoheterotrophic orchids associate with narrow clades of ectomycorrhizal fungi and obtain photosynthates from neighbouring trees through underground mycorrhizal networks. In contrast to these findings, in tropical and subtropical forests a couple of mycoheterotrophic orchids have been reported to associate with saprotrophic non-rhizoctonia fungi and obtain nutrients through their ability of wood- or litter-decay. Nonetheless, also ectomycorrhizal-associated mycoheterotrophic orchids have been reported for subtropical forests. Thus, for subtropical and tropical forests a co-occurrence of mycoheterotrophic orchids associated with wood or litter-decay fungi and with ectomycorrhizal fungi is likely. As compared to the temperate region (e.g. two mycoheterotrophic orchid species in entire Europe), a great diversity of mycoheterotrophic orchids (more than 120 species) occurs in tropical and subtropical Asia. In Taiwan, among the ca. 400 native orchids, more than 50 fully MH orchids of 16 genera were recorded. The fungal partners and nutritional modes of most mycoheterotrophic orchids in Taiwan are still unknown. In this joint call project of MOST-DFG we will use molecular methods together with a multi-element stable isotope natural abundance approach and tracer applications to investigate a wide range of mycoheterotrophic orchid species from six genera and to address the following objectives:

(1) We are going to identify the fungal associates of more than 20 mycoheterotrophic orchid species.

(2) We are going to compare the fungal diversity (OTUs) in mycorrhiza of these orchids using metagenomic analysis.

(3) To reveal their nutritional resources, we are going to analyze carbon, nitrogen, hydrogen and oxygen stable isotope natural abundances of mycoheterotrophic orchids associated with different fungal groups in various forest types and mountain elevation zones and compare these isotope abundances to co-occurring fully autotrophic plants.

From this project we expect to obtain the following results:

(1) We will identify the mycorrhizal associates of the target orchid species studied in this project and understand the mycorrhizal diversity, specificity and distribution patterns of native mycoheterotrophic orchids in Taiwan.

(2) We will trace the nutritional resources and nutrient flows of the target orchid species associated with different mycorrhizal partners and occurring in various habitats from high/low elevation and different forest types.



last modified 2019-05-08

Uni-Bayreuth grafik-uni-bayreuth

Sprungmarken

 

Untersuchungen zu Mykorrhiza-Partnern und Nährstoffquellen von mykoheterotrophen Orchideen in Taiwan

DFG GE 565/9-1

Von 09/2018 bis 10/2021

Projektleiter: Gerhard Gebauer

Etwa 1% aller Orchideenarten ist chlorophylllos und zeitlebens zur Deckung des Kohlenstoff- und Mineralstoffbedarfs auf Mykorrhizapartner angewiesen. Die Lebensweise dieser chlorophylllosen Orchideen wird als Mykoheterotrophie bezeichnet. In temperaten und borealen Wäldern sind die mykoheterotrophen Orchideen mit eng verwandten Gruppen von Ektomykorrhizapilzen vergesellschaftet und bekommen durch ein Mykorrhiza-Netzwerk im Boden Photosyntheseprodukte von benachbarten Bäumen. Im Gegensatz dazu wurde in tropischen und subtropischen Wäldern für einige mykoheterotrophe Orchideen eine Vergesellschaftung mit saprotrophen Holz- oder Streuzersetzerpilzen beschrieben. Gleichzeitig wurde bei mykoheterotrophen Orchideen in subtropischen Wäldern aber auch eine Vergesellschaftung mit Ektomykorrhizapilzen gefunden. Es ist folglich davon auszugehen, dass in subtropischen Wäldern mykoheterotrophe Orchideen assoziiert mit Ektomykorrhizapilzen oder mit Holz- oder Streuzersetzerpilzen gemeinsam vorkommen. Im Vergleich zur temperaten Zone mit z.B. nur zwei mykoheterotrophen Orchideenarten in ganz Europa treten im subtropischen und tropischen Asien mit mehr als 120 Arten mykoheterotrophe Orchideen in großer Diversität auf. Für Taiwan sind unter den ca. 400 einheimischen Orchideenarten mehr als 50 vollständig mykoheterotrophe Arten aus 16 Gattungen gelistet. Die Pilzparter und die Ernährungsweise sind für die meisten der mykoheterotrophen Orchideen in Taiwan noch unbekannt. In diesem MOST-DFG-Kooperationsprojekt werden wir molekulare Methoden zusammen mit Multi-Element-Isotopenhäufigkeitsanalysen und Tracer-Anwendungen benutzen, um ein weites Spektrum von mykoheterotrophen Orchideen aus sechs Gattungen zu untersuchen. Wir verfolgen dabei die folgenden Ziele:

(1) Wir wollen die Pilzpartner von über 20 mykoheterotrophen Orchideenarten identifizieren.

(2) Wir wollen die Pilzdiversität (OTUs) in der Mykorrhiza dieser Orchideen mit Hilfe von Metagenomanalysen vergleichen.

(3) Um letztendlich die Ernährungsquellen der mykoheterotrophen Orchideen zu identifizieren, wollen wir die natürlichen C-, N-, H- und O-Isotopenhäufigkeiten der mit den unterschiedlichen Pilzpartnern mykorrhizierten Orchideen bestimmen. Wir werden die Orchideen in verschiedenen Waldtypen und Gebirgshöhenstufen sammeln und ihre Isotopenhäufigkeit immer im Vergleich zu autotrophen Begleitpflanzen bestimmen.

Wir erwarten aus dem Projekt die folgenden Erkenntnisse:

(1) Wir werden nach Abschluss des Projekts nicht nur die Pilzpartner der untersuchten Orchideen kennen, sondern auch die Mykorrhiza-Diversität sowie Spezialisierungs- und Verteilungsmuster der in Taiwan heimischen mykoheterotrophen Orchideen verstehen.

(2) Wir werden darüber hinaus die Grundlagen der Ernährung und die Ernährungsquellen der untersuchten Orchideen in Verknüpfung mit ihren jeweiligen Mykorrhizapartnern verstehen und mit ihrem Vorkommen in verschiedenen Gebirgshöhenstufen und unterschiedlichen Waldtypen in Beziehung setzen können.



Letzte Änderung 08.05.2019