Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

Faculty for Biology, Chemistry and Earth Sciences

Department Soil Ecology - Prof. Dr. Eva Lehndorff

print page

Quantification and process distinction of biogenic trace gas fluxes

DFG FOR 562 TP 3

From 04/2005 to 01/2009

Principal Investigator: Gerhard Gebauer, Werner Borken
Staff: Stefanie Goldberg, Jan Muhr, Klaus-Holger Knorr
Grant: FOR 562 Dynamics of soil processes under extreme meteorological boundary conditions

The trace gases CO2, CH4, N2O and NOx are formed or consumed in soils mainly by biogenic processes. They exchange with the atmosphere through the soil surface or vegetation. Each of the trace gases can originate from two different processes (CO2: microbial and root respiration; CH4: acetate fermentation and CO2 reduction; N2O and NOx: denitrification and nitrification). Soil temperature and water content are important driving factors for the amount of gas fluxes and the contribution of each of these processes. We expect peaks of the trace gas fluxes attributed to extreme changes of meteorological conditions. This project investigates the dynamic of the trace gas fluxes and the underlying processes after experimental drying/rewetting and freeze/thaw events in two ecosystem types (spruce forest and peat bog) and under laboratory conditions. Isotope abundance analyses of the trace gases and their precursors are used for the source and potentially sink process identification. Identification of underlying processes is essential for improved models of trace gas fluxes.

List of publications of this Project

Goldberg, S; Borken, W; Gebauer, G: N2O emission in a Norway spruce forest due to soil frost - Concentration and isotope profiles shed a new light on an old story, Biogeochemistry, 97, 21-30 (2010), doi:10.1007/s10533-009-9294-z [Link] -- Details
Muhr, J; Goldberg, S; Borken, W; Gebauer, G: Repeated drying-rewetting cycles and their effects on the emission of CO2, N2O, NOx and CH4 in a forest soil, Journal of Plant Nutrition and Soil Science, 171, 719-728 (2008), doi:10.1002/jpln.200700302 -- Details
Goldberg, S; Muhr, J; Borken, W; Gebauer, G: Fluxes of climate-relevant trace gases between a Norway spruce forest soil and atmosphere during repeated freeze-thaw cycles in mesocosms, Journal of Plant Nutrition and Soil Science, 171, 729-739 (2008), doi:10.1002/jpln.200700317 -- Details
FacebookTwitterYoutube-KanalBlogKontakt aufnehmen
This site makes use of cookies More information

Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

Fakultät für Biologie, Chemie und Geowissenschaften

Lehrstuhl Bodenökologie - Prof. Dr. Eva Lehndorff

Seite drucken

Quantifizierung und Kausalanalyse biogener Spurengasflüsse

DFG FOR 562 TP 3

Von 04/2005 bis 01/2009

Projektleiter: Gerhard Gebauer, Werner Borken
Mitarbeiter: Stefanie Goldberg, Jan Muhr, Klaus-Holger Knorr
Bewilligung: FOR 562 Forschergruppe Dynamik von Bodenprozessen bei extremen meteorologischen Randbedingungen

Die Spurengase CO2, CH4, N2O und NOx entstehen in Böden vorwiegend durch biologische Prozesse und tauschen sich über die Bodenoberfläche bzw. die Vegetation mit der Atmosphäre aus. Bei der Bildung dieser Gase sind jeweils zwei Prozesse maßgeblich beteiligt (CO2: mikrobielle Atmung und Wurzelatmung; CH4: Acetat-Fermentation und CO2-Reduktion; N2O und NOx: Denitrifikation und Nitrifikation). Der Beitrag der einzelnen Prozesse und die Höhe der Gasflüsse hängen u.a. erheblich von der Temperatur und dem Wassergehalt des Bodens ab. Es wird erwartet, dass sich die Gasflüsse bei extremem Wechsel der meteorologischen Randbedingungen sprunghaft ändern. Ziel dieses Vorhabens ist es, die Auswirkungen von experimentell induzierten extremen Änderungen der Randbedingungen auf die Flüsse der Spurengase zwischen Boden und Atmosphäre simultan in zwei Ökosystemen (Fichtenwald und Niedermoor) und in Laborexperimenten zu untersuchen und die den Gasflüssen zugrunde¬liegenden Entstehungsprozesse mit Hilfe von Isotopenhäufigkeitsanalysen der Spurengase und ihrer Ausgangssubstanzen quantitativ zuzuordnen sowie eventuelle Senkenfunktionen von Böden für die Gase zu erfassen. Die quantitative Prozesszuordnung ist eine wesentliche Voraussetzung, um die Gasflüsse zukünftig auch besser modellhaft beschreiben zu können.

Publikationsliste dieses Projekts

Goldberg, S; Borken, W; Gebauer, G: N2O emission in a Norway spruce forest due to soil frost - Concentration and isotope profiles shed a new light on an old story, Biogeochemistry, 97, 21-30 (2010), doi:10.1007/s10533-009-9294-z [Link] -- Details
Muhr, J; Goldberg, S; Borken, W; Gebauer, G: Repeated drying-rewetting cycles and their effects on the emission of CO2, N2O, NOx and CH4 in a forest soil, Journal of Plant Nutrition and Soil Science, 171, 719-728 (2008), doi:10.1002/jpln.200700302 -- Details
Goldberg, S; Muhr, J; Borken, W; Gebauer, G: Fluxes of climate-relevant trace gases between a Norway spruce forest soil and atmosphere during repeated freeze-thaw cycles in mesocosms, Journal of Plant Nutrition and Soil Science, 171, 729-739 (2008), doi:10.1002/jpln.200700317 -- Details
FacebookTwitterYoutube-KanalBlogKontakt aufnehmen
Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. weitere Informationen