Scientific Publications in AquaKlif

 

Kaule, L., Frei, S.: Analysis of drought conditions and their impacts in a headwater stream in the Central European lower mountain ranges. Reg Environ Change 22, 82 (2022).
Artikel L. Kaule und S. Frei

This study’s primary objective is to predict and analyze potential shifts in the water balance of headwater catchments in the lower mountain ranges in Central Europe, to estimate periods of hydrological drought conditions, and their characteristics. This was done using a Regional Climate Model Ensemble for the Lehstenbach catchment until the year 2100.

Pander, J., Casas-Mulet, R. & Geist, J.: Hydropeaking impairs upstream salmonid spawning habitats in a restored Danube tributary.  River Research and Applications (2022)
Bild aus "Hydropeaking impairs upstream salmonid spawning habitats in a restored Danube tributary"

Hydropower is considered an important form of renewable energy, often involving hydropeaking - the water reservoir is filled and released periodically. The paper investigates effects of hydropeaking on fish habitats in a restored Danube tributary located 5km upstream the dam: successful development of salmonid eggs is inhibited here by the fluctuating waterlevel.

Hoess, R., & Geist, J.: Nutrient and fine sediment loading from fish pond drainage to pearl mussel streams – Management implications for highly valuable stream ecosystems.  Journal of Environmental Management, Vol. 302, (2021)
Graphical Abstract der Publikation Hoess & Geist, 2022

The role of fish ponds in sediment and nutrient inputs to a pearl mussel stream is examined. The paper compares two ways of draining ponds for fish harvesting. Nutrients dissolved in the water were released continuously, fine sediments mainly at the end of the draining process. A settling pond significantly reduces inputs of particulate matter, but different measures are needed for dissolved matter.

Blaurock, K., Beudert, B., Gilfedder, B., Fleckenstein, J., Peiffer, S., Hopp, L.: Low hydrological connectivity after summer drought inhibits DOC export in a forested headwater catchment. Hydrology and Earth System Sciences, 25(9), 5133-5151 (2021).

DOC-Forschung_BayerWald_FotoKatharinaBlaurock

How does the amount of dissolved organic carbon (DOC) in a stream depend on the topography of the catchment, the current amount of precipitation and the soil moisture influenced by the previous weeks? The study investigates possible dependencies using the example of the Große Ohe in the Bavarian Forest National Park.

Piatka, D.R., Frank, A.H., Köhler, I., Castiglione, K., van Geldern, R. and Barth, J.A.C.: Balance of carbon species combined with stable isotope ratios show critical switch towards bicarbonate uptake during cyanobacteria blooms. Science of the Total Environment, 151067 (2021)
Dechsendorfer Weiher (D. Piatka)

Cyanobacteria blooms degrade water quality, but also affect the turnover of carbon in water. The study uses stable isotope analyses over a total of 23 months at the Dechsendorf pond in the North of the Erlangen/Nuremberg area to investigate the effects of cyanobacteria blooms on inorganic as well as dissolved and particulate organic carbon in the water.

Beierkuhnlein, C.: Nature-based solutions must be realized - not just proclaimed - in face of climatic extremes. In "Erdkunde - Archive for Scientific Geography", Vol.75. (2021)
Foto: Höhenlage im Nationalpark Bayerischer Wald mit ehemaliger natürlicher Fichtenvegetation nach Borkenkäferausbruch (© Carl Beierkuhnlein)

Natural disasters resulting from climate change are increasing in frequency and severity. Research has identified the diversity of plant species, ecosystems and landscape structures as a key factor in risk prevention. This article provides suggestions for sustainable and feasible approaches to crisis prevention at the landscape level - and calls for implementation.

Köhler, I; Martinez, RE; Piatka, D; Herrmann, AJ; Gallo, A; Gehringer, MM; Barth, JAC: How are oxygen budgets influenced by dissolved iron and growth of oxygenic phototrophs in an iron-rich spring system? Initial results from the Espan Spring in Fürth, Germany. Biogeosciences, 18, (2021).
Publication Espan Spring

The methodological study deals for the first time with the seasonal dynamics of iron oxidation in a natural iron-rich water body, the Espan spring near Fürth/Germany. Measurement and analysis methods were tested that can be used to identify the processes that determine dissolved oxygen content. Oxygen isotope analyses are an important tool in AquaKlif.

Kaule, R; Gilfedder, B: Groundwater Dominates Water Fluxes in a Headwater Catchment During Drought. Frontiers in Water, Vol. 3, (2021).
Niedrigwasser-Oberlauf_schmaler

The importance of groundwater for the water balance of stream headwaters, which make up a large part of the world's flowing waters, is discussed. When water flow is low, the proportion of groundwater in  small headwaters may rise up to 70%, and aquatic ecosystems are then increasingly dependent on groundwater inflows. This should be taken into account for maintenance and protection of streams under changing climatic conditions.

Piatka, D; Wild, R; Hartmann, J; Kaule, R; Kaule, L; Gilfedder, B; Peiffer, S; Geist, J; Beierkuhnlein, C; Barth, JAC: Transfer and transformations of oxygen in rivers as catchment reflectors of continental landscapes: A Review. , Earth-Science Reviews, 220(103729), 1-16 (2021)
Transfer and transformations of oxygen in rivers as catchment reflectors of continental landscapes: A review

The continuous accumulation of dissolved oxygen is vital for aquatic organisms and is threatened by many factors. Rivers integrate biogeochemical information of entire catchments, and their oxygen dynamics can reflect the health of ecosystems and landscapes. This review article shows these interrelations based on analyses from the GLObal RIver CHemistry Datenbank, and suggests new monitoring approaches for streams.

Casas-Mulet, R; Pander,  J; Prietzel, M; Geist,  J: The HydroEcoSedimentary tool: An integrated approach to characterise interstitial hydro-sedimentary and associated ecological processes. River Research and Application, 2021
HEST_JGeist

Increased deposition of fine sediments in rivers and streams affects important ecosystem processes at the sediment-water interface and is critical to stream habitat quality. The "HydroEcoSedimentary Tool" enables the collaborative assessment of sedimentation and other ecologically relevant processes in streambeds, with a focus on early life stages of brook trout. The new tool extends existing monitoring options of the stressor fine sediment deposition in streams.

Schaller J, Frei S, Rohn L, Gilfedder BS: Amorphous silica controls water storage capacity and phosphorus mobility in soils. Frontiers in Environmental Science, 8 (2020)
As a result of climate change, more frequent and longer periods of drought associated with crop failures are to be expected. At the same time, phosphorus used for fertilization is a limited resource. Amorphous silicate is capable of significantly increasing the water reserves available to plants in soils and mobilizing existing phosphorus, thus making it available to plants. This is demonstrated in the article using a sandy soil.

Increasing the water-holding capacity of agricultural soils serves not only to mitigate drought stress but also to alleviate the problems of flooding and erosion, the effects of which are being studied in AquaKlif.

Further material is listed in Publications from AquaKlif in German Language.

This site makes use of cookies More information

Wissenschaftliche Publikationen aus AquaKlif

Hoess, R.; Generali, K.A.; Kuhn, J.; Geist, J.: Impact of Fish Ponds on Stream Hydrology and Temperature Regime in the Context of Freshwater Pearl Mussel Conservation. Water 14, 2490 (2022).
Muschel

Die Erhaltung gefährdeter, an kühle Temperatur­bereiche gebundener Arten wie der Bach­perl­muschel und ihrer Wirts­fische ist in Bach-Oberläufen als letzten Rückzugs­gebieten schwierig. In dieser Simulations­studie werden die Auswirkungen von Fischteichen auf diese Bäche anhand von Daten aus einer Region mit zahlreichen bach­begleitenden Teichen untersucht. Für die Kalibrierung des Modells wurden Erkenntnisse zu Grundwasser­zuflüssen aus AquaKlif verwendet.

Piatka, D.R., Venkiteswaran, J.J., Uniyal, B., Kaule, R., Gilfedder, B. & Barth, J. A. C.: Dissolved oxygen isotope modelling refines metabolic state estimates of stream ecosystems with different land use background. Scientific Reports 12, 10204 (2022).
Publikation Piatka et al 2022 Sci Rep

Ausreichend gelöster Sauerstoff ist für das Leben in Bächen und Flüssen von entscheidender Bedeutung. Klima- und Landnutzungsänderungen stören zunehmend das metabolische Gleichgewicht von Bächen, das den Zustand ihrer Einzugsgebiete wiederspiegelt. Die Studie untersucht, wie sich gelöster Sauerstoff und seine stabilen Isotope (8O/16O) als neuartige Indikatoren für den Zustand von Fließgewässerökosystemen nutzen lassen.

Kaule, L., Frei, S.: Analysis of drought conditions and their impacts in a headwater stream in the Central European lower mountain ranges. Reg Environ Change 22, 82 (2022).
Artikel L. Kaule und S. Frei

Es werden für kleinere Einzugsgebiete in den europäischen Mittelgebirgen Vorhersagen zu möglichen Verschiebungen im Wasserhaushalt gemacht und die Charakteristika zukünftiger Trockenheitperioden abgeschätzt. Dazu dienen Berechnungen bis zum Jahr 2100 mit einem regionalen Klimamodell-Ensemble für das Einzugsgebiet des Lehstenbachs im Fichtelgebirge.

Pander, J., Casas-Mulet, R. & Geist, J.: Hydropeaking impairs upstream salmonid spawning habitats in a restored Danube tributary.  River Research and Applications (2022)
Bild aus "Hydropeaking impairs upstream salmonid spawning habitats in a restored Danube tributary"

Wasserkraft gilt als eine wichtige erneuerbare Energie, die oft mit Schwallbetrieb verbunden ist, bei dem das Wasser­reservoir regelmäßig gefüllt und wieder abgelassen wird. Der Beitrag untersucht die Auswirkungen des Schwall­betriebs auf Fisch-Lebensräume in einem restaurierten Nebenarm der Donau 5 km flussaufwärts des Staudamms. Die erfolgreiche Entwicklung von Salmoniden­eiern wird durch den schwankenden Wasserstand verhindert.

Hoess, R., & Geist, J.: Nutrient and fine sediment loading from fish pond drainage to pearl mussel streams – Management implications for highly valuable stream ecosystems.  Journal of Environmental Management, Vol. 302, (2021)
Graphical Abstract der Publikation Hoess & Geist, 2022

Untersucht wird die Rolle von Fischteichen für den Eintrag von Sedimenten und Nährstoffen in einen Perlmuschelbach. Der Beitrag vergleicht zwei Ansätze, Teiche zur Fischernte abzulassen. Im Wasser gelöste Nährstoffe wurden dabei kontinuierlich, Feinsedimente dagegen stoßweise am Ende freigesetzt. Ein Absetzbecken senkt die Einträge von Partikeln maßgeblich, für gelöste Stoffe sind andere Maßnahmen notwendig.

Blaurock, K., Beudert, B., Gilfedder, B., Fleckenstein, J., Peiffer, S., Hopp, L.: Low hydrological connectivity after summer drought inhibits DOC export in a forested headwater catchment. Hydrology and Earth System Sciences, 25(9), 5133-5151 (2021).

DOC-Forschung_BayerWald_FotoKatharinaBlaurock

Wie hängt die Menge an gelöstem organischem Kohlenstoff in einem Bach von der Topographie des Einzugsgebiets, der aktuellen Niederschlagsmenge und der durch die vorangegangenen Wochen geprägten Bodenfeuchte ab? Die Studie untersucht mögliche Gesetzmäßigkeiten am Beispiel der Großen Ohe im Nationalpark Bayerischer Wald.

Piatka, D.R., Frank, A.H., Köhler, I., Castiglione, K., van Geldern, R. and Barth, J.A.C.: Balance of carbon species combined with stable isotope ratios show critical switch towards bicarbonate uptake during cyanobacteria blooms. Science of the Total Environment, 151067 (2021)
Dechsendorfer Weiher (D. Piatka)

Blaualgenblüten verschlechtern die Wasserqualität, haben aber auch Einfluss auf die Umsätze von Kohlenstoff im Wasser. Die Studie untersucht mittels stabiler Isotopenanalysen über insgesamt 23 Monate am Dechsendorfer Weiher, welche Auswirkungen Cyanobakterienblüten auf im Wasser gelösten anorganischen sowie gelösten und partikulären organischen Kohlenstoff hat.

Beierkuhnlein, C.: Nature-based solutions must be realized - not just proclaimed - in face of climatic extremes. In "Erdkunde - Archive for Scientific Geography", Vol.75. (2021)
Foto: Höhenlage im Nationalpark Bayerischer Wald mit ehemaliger natürlicher Fichtenvegetation nach Borkenkäferausbruch (© Carl Beierkuhnlein)

Naturkatastrophen als Folge des Klimawandels nehmen an Häufigkeit und Stärke zu. Die Forschung hat die Vielfalt der Pflanzenarten, Ökosysteme und Landschaftsstrukturen als einen Schlüsselfaktor zur Risikovorsorge erkannt. Der Beitrag gibt Anregungen, wie nachhaltige und machbare Ansätze zur Krisenprävention auf Landschaftsebene aussehen können - und ruft zur Umsetzung auf.

Köhler, I; Martinez, RE; Piatka, D; Herrmann, AJ; Gallo, A; Gehringer, MM; Barth, JAC: How are oxygen budgets influenced by dissolved iron and growth of oxygenic phototrophs in an iron-rich spring system? Initial results from the Espan Spring in Fürth, Germany. Biogeosciences, 18, (2021).
Publication Espan Spring

Die methodische Studie beschäftigt sich erstmals mit der saisonalen Dynamik der Eisen-Oxidation in einem natürlichen eisenreichen Gewässer, der Espan-Quelle bei Fürth. Es wurden Mess- und Analysemethoden erprobt, mit deren Hilfe die Prozesse identifiziert werden können, die den Gehalt an gelöstem Sauerstoff bestimmen. Die Arbeit mit Sauerstoff-Isotopen ist dabei ein wichtiges Werkzeug in AquaKlif.

Kaule, R; Gilfedder, B: Groundwater Dominates Water Fluxes in a Headwater Catchment During Drought. Frontiers in Water, Vol. 3, (2021).
Niedrigwasser-Oberlauf_schmaler

Diskutiert wird die Bedeutung des Grundwassers für den Wasserhaushalt von Bach-Oberläufen, die einen großen Teil der weltweiten Fließgewässer ausmachen. Bei geringer Wasserführung steigt der Anteil des Grundwassers dort auf bis zu 70%, aquatische Ökosysteme sind dann zunehmend von Grundwasser-Zuflüssen abhängig. Dies sollte für Unterhalt und Schutz von Fließgewässern unter veränderten klimatischen Bedingungen berücksichtigt werden.

Piatka, D; Wild, R; Hartmann, J; Kaule, R; Kaule, L; Gilfedder, B; Peiffer, S; Geist, J; Beierkuhnlein, C; Barth, JAC: Transfer and transformations of oxygen in rivers as catchment reflectors of continental landscapes: A Review. , Earth-Science Reviews, 220(103729), 1-16 (2021)
Transfer and transformations of oxygen in rivers as catchment reflectors of continental landscapes: A review

Die kontinuierliche Anreicherung von gelöstem Sauerstoff ist für aquatische Organismen lebenswichtig und durch viele Faktoren gefährdet. Flüsse integrieren biogeochemische Informationen ganzer Einzugsgebiete, ihre Sauerstoff-Dynamik kann die Gesundheit von Ökosystemen und Landschaften widerspiegeln. Dies zeigt der Review-Artikel basierend auf Analysen aus der GLObal RIver CHemistry Datenbank, und regt neue Monitoring-Ansätze für Fließgewässer an.

Casas-Mulet, R; Pander,  J; Prietzel, M; Geist,  J: The HydroEcoSedimentary tool: An integrated approach to characterise interstitial hydro-sedimentary and associated ecological processes. River Research and Application, 2021
HEST_JGeist

Die verstärkte Ablagerung von Feinsedimenten in Flüssen und Bächen wirkt sich auf wichtige Ökosystem-Prozesse an der Sediment-Wasser-Grenzfläche aus und ist kritisch für die Qualität von Flusslebensräumen. Das "HydroEcoSedimentary Tool" ermöglicht die gemeinsame Bewertung von Sedimentations-  und weiteren ökologisch relevanten Prozessen im Bachbett, mit Fokus auf frühe Lebensstadien der Bachforelle. Das neue Werkzeug erweitert bestehende Monitoring-Optionen des Stressfaktors Deposition von Feinsedimenten in Fließgewässern.

Schaller J, Frei S, Rohn L, Gilfedder BS: Amorphous silica controls water storage capacity and phosphorus mobility in soils. Frontiers in Environmental Science, 8 (2020)
Infolge des Klimawandels ist mit häufigeren und längeren Dürreperioden verbunden mit Erneausfällen zu rechnen. Gleichzeitig ist der fürs Düngen verwendete Phosphor ein begrenzter Rohstoff. Amorphes Silikat ist in der Lage, die für Pflanzen verfügbaren Wasservorräte in Böden erheblich zu steigern und vorhandenes Phosphor zu mobilisieren und damit pflanzenverfügbar zu machen. Dies wird im Artikel anhand eines sandigen Bodens gezeigt.
Die Wasserhaltekapazität landwirtschaftlich genutzter Böden zu erhöhen dient neben der Abschwächung von Trockenstress auch der Entschärfung der Hochwasser- und Erosions-Problematik, deren Auswirkungen in AquaKlif mit untersucht werden.

Weiteres unter "Deutsprachige Fachartikel aus AquaKlif".

Aktuelle Termine
Mo. 21.11.2022 aktuell
Verlängert für 2023: Bildungsprojekt "Wasserstrategien im Klimawandel"
Universität Bayreuth

TU München

Friedrich Alexander Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg

Supported by BayCEER

Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. weitere Informationen