Analysing Dynamics of Forest Catchment Output and Novel Climatic Trends indicated by the Ecology of Springs

AD FONTES

From 03/2013 to 12/2017

Principal Investigator: Carl Beierkuhnlein
Staff: Andreas Schweiger

AD FONTES: Analysing Dynamics of Forest Catchment Output and Novel Climatic Trends indicated by the Ecology of Springs

This  project  is  co-financed  by  the  European  fond  for  regional  development  of  the  European  Union  and the  Bavarian  State  Ministry  of  the  Environment and Consumer Protection  (TEU01EU-63000).

 

The major objective of the AD FONTES research project is to establish an ecosystematic tool for predicting climate change effects on regional scale based on helocrenic forest springs.

 

Climate and land-use change significantly affect fluxes of matter and energy and thus functioning of forest ecosystems. However, up to now the impact of climate change on regional scale processes is hard to assess with the conventional monitoring methods like climate stations. In interflow-fed forest springs groundwater including solutes from the whole catchment seeps out of the ground concentrated to one point. Thus, shifts in the mass balance of the catchments can be easily monitored instantaneous and spatially integrating. Furthermore, springs are characterized by a set of temporal very constant environmental conditions and a variety of species especially adapted to these conditions. Thus, shifts in energy and matter loads affect not only physico-chemical water characteristics but show also visible, direct effects on the spring vegetation. Both facts qualify interflow-fed forest springs as a sensitive monitoring tool for climate and land-use change effects on regional scale.

 

The AD FONTES research project aims to investigate the potential of forest springs as an integral monitoring tool for climate change effects on regional scale. Started in 1989, water and vegetation characteristics were studied continuously at more than 100 interflow-fed forest springs in the low mountain ranges of north-east Bavaria (Southern Germany). Based on these long-term observations of springs, which can be found in high spatial density in these low mountain ranges dominated by coniferous forest, long-term effects of climate change on forest ecosystems can be thoroughly assessed. To implement an ecosystematic monitoring tool based on interflow-fed forest springs this long-term dataset will now be continued and analyzed in a goal orientated manner. The high spatial density as well as the regular distribution of the interflow-fed springs within the large forested areas allows a more detailed assessment and a more precise prediction of climate change effects on regional scale. The results from this project will assist in terms of forestry and nature conservation management issues to develop strategies for a sustainable use and development of forest ecosystems in the ongoing global climate change.



Upcoming ...

Fr. 2020-07-10 now
12th BayCEER Workshop 2020: "Call for Abstracts" is open
BayCEER Colloquium:
Th. 2020-10-22
Extreme redox oscillations in freshwater re-flooded acid sulfate soil wetlands: Effects on Fe, S, and trace metals geochemical behavior
Th. 2020-10-29
Dissolved organic matter quality in differently managed forest ecosystems
Th. 2020-11-05
Signaling of rhizosphere microbiome: key for plant health, development and nutrition
Workshop:
Th. 2020-10-29
BayCEER Workshop 2020
BayCEER Blog
13.01.2020
Why Science Communication?
24.05.2019
Stoichiometric controls of C and N cycling
07.05.2019
Flying halfway across the globe to dig in the dirt – a research stay in Bloomington, USA
16.04.2019
Picky carnivorous plants?
RSS Blog as RSS Feed
Weather research site
Luftdruck (356m): 973.8 hPa
Lufttemperatur: 24.2 °C
Niederschlag: 0.0 mm/24h
Sonnenschein: <1 h/d
Wind (Höhe 17m): 6.1 km/h
Wind (Max.): 15.8 km/h
Windrichtung: SO

...more
Globalstrahlung: 917 W/m²
Niederschlag: 0.0 mm/24h
Sonnenschein: 4 h/d
Wind (Höhe 32m): 0.0 km/h

...more
This site makes use of cookies More information

Einfluss des Klimawandels auf die Ökologie von Quellen in den nordbayerischen Mittelgebirgen – Quellen als sensible Instrumente der Klimaindikation

AD FONTES

Von 03/2013

Projektleiter: Carl Beierkuhnlein
Mitarbeiter: Andreas Schweiger

Vorhaben: Dieses Projekt wird von der Europäischen Union aus dem Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung und vom Bayerischen Staatsministerium für Umwelt und Verbraucherschutz kofinanziert (TEU01EU-63000).

 

Hauptziel des AD FONTES Forschungsprojektes ist die Etablierung eines ökosystemaren Klimaindikationssystems auf landschaftlicher Ebene mit Hilfe von oberflächennah gespeisten Waldquellen (Helokrenen).

 

Klimawandel und Veränderungen in der Landnutzung beeinflussen deutlich die Stoff-Umsatzprozesse und somit die Funktionalität von Wald-Ökosystemen. Die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels auf landschaftlicher Ebene lassen sich allerdings mit den bisherigen Monitoring-Methoden wie Klimastationen nur schwer erfassen und bewerten. In oberflächennah gespeisten Waldquellen tritt Wasser und die darin gelösten Stoffe konzentriert an die Oberfläche, so dass Veränderungen im Stoffhaushalt der Einzugsgebiete zeitlich unverzögert und räumlich integrierend erfasst werden können. Zudem zeichnen sich Quellen durch äußerst konstante Lebensbedingungen und hochgradig an diese Bedingungen angepasste Arten aus. Veränderungen im Temperaturregime oder der Stofffracht zeigen somit nicht nur auf die Wassercharakteristik sondern auch auf die Quellvegetation direkte, sichtbare Effekte. Beide Sachverhalte machen oberflächennah gespeiste Waldquellen zu einem empfindlichen Indikatorsystem für das Monitoring von Klima- und Landnutzungswandel.

 

Im AD FONTES Projekt wird dieses Potential von Waldquellen als integrales Monitoring-Instrument für die nordbayerischen Mittelgebirge untersucht, wo oberflächennah gespeiste Helokrenen in großer räumlicher Dichte auftreten. Mit einer bis 1989 zurückreichende Zeitreihe an Beobachtungen zur Wasser- und Vegetationscharakteristik von über 100 Quellen können Langzeiteffekte des Klimawandels auf Waldökosysteme analysiert und bewertet werden. Die Fortführung und gezielte Auswertung dieser Langzeit-Beobachtung wird genutzt, um ein Monitoring auf ökosystemarer Ebene umzusetzen. Durch die große räumliche Dichte und regelmäßige Verteilung der Quellen innerhalb der großflächigen Waldgebiete können landschaftliche Auswirkungen des Klimawandels besser bewertet und für zukünftige Prognosen genutzt werden. Die daraus resultierenden Ergebnisse helfen nicht nur im forstlichen Management sondern auch im Arten- und Naturschutz richtige Strategien zur nachhaltigen Nutzung und Entwicklung im voranschreitenden Klimawandel zu finden.



Aktuelle Termine


Ökologisch-Botanischer Garten:
So. 24.09.2017
Konzert: Matinee im Garten mit dem Blockflötenensemble der Städtischen Musikschule Bayreuth
So. 01.10.2017
Herberge für Specht & Co.: Die Streuobstwiese
So. 15.10.2017
Der ÖBG zum Kennenlernen: Allgemeine Gartenführung
Symposium:
Do. 05.10.2017
Bayreuther Klimaschutzsymposium 2017
Workshop:
Do. 12.10.2017
BayCEER Workshop 2017
Wetter Versuchsflächen
Luftdruck (356m): 972.5 hPa
Lufttemperatur: 12.3 °C
Niederschlag: 0.4 mm/24h
Sonnenschein: 1 h/d
Wind (Höhe 17m): 7.0 km/h
Wind (Max.): 14.4 km/h
Windrichtung: NW

...mehr
Globalstrahlung: 505 W/m²
Lufttemperatur: 12.9 °C
Niederschlag: 0.1 mm/24h
Sonnenschein: 2 h/d
Wind (Höhe 32m): 6.7 km/h
Wind (Max.): 18.0 km/h

...mehr