North-Bavarian local heat islands as a hideaway for thermophilic plant species

North-Bavarian local heat islands

From 12/2013 to 12/2015

Staff: Andreas Schweiger, Carl Beierkuhnlein

The ecological effects of climate change appear globally in terms of loss of species. Beside phenological alternations, shifts in vegetation period and population dynamics, significant effects on species diversity are very likely to appear also at a regional scale. Whereas mobile species like most animals will be able to counteract climatic shifts e.g. by migration, most plants have only a restricted dispersal ability and thus will be not capable to deal with rapid climatic changes.

 

In this context, assisted migration, means the active translocation of species into regions, which are expected to be more suitable in the future, is the subject of heated debates in the current literature. Whereas numerous people consider assisted migration to be irresponsible in terms of regional nature conservation, others equate the active negligence of assisted migration with an active approval of regional species loss. However, little is known about the ecological effects of active translocation of species into foreign ecosystems. Therefore, active field research is needed to take the right decisions in terms of species conservation. Furthermore, results form this research will help to interpret results, which derives from biogeographical modelling. Current species distribution models only apply to zonal climatic conditions. Microclimatic peculiarities as well as a temporal restricted presence of such kind of favourable climatic conditions is still neglected in terms of species distribution modelling.

 

The monitoring of already established populations of foreign species in our landscape is the best way to answer the question about the effects of species introduction on local communities. Natural local heat islands in the landscape of northeastern Bavaria provide an excellent opportunity to study these effects. These special sites (mainly dry grassland) are favoured by warm local climatic conditions in comparison to the surrounding landscape and hosts numerous, thermophilic species, which were in parts already introduced in the 1960’s.

 

The major objective of our project is to assess the potential of this local heat island in Northern Bavaria as a hideaway for thermophilous exotic plant species. Therefore, the current abundance and distribution of foreign species will be mapped and compared to historical records. Furthermore, local climatic conditions will be monitored with high spatial and temporal resolution to reveal the major microclimatic drivers of exotic species continued existence in this area.



Upcoming ...

Fr. 2020-07-10 now
12th BayCEER Workshop 2020: "Call for Abstracts" is open
BayCEER Colloquium:
Th. 2020-10-22
Extreme redox oscillations in freshwater re-flooded acid sulfate soil wetlands: Effects on Fe, S, and trace metals geochemical behavior
Th. 2020-10-29
Dissolved organic matter quality in differently managed forest ecosystems
Th. 2020-11-05
Signaling of rhizosphere microbiome: key for plant health, development and nutrition
Workshop:
Th. 2020-10-29
BayCEER Workshop 2020
BayCEER Blog
13.01.2020
Why Science Communication?
24.05.2019
Stoichiometric controls of C and N cycling
07.05.2019
Flying halfway across the globe to dig in the dirt – a research stay in Bloomington, USA
16.04.2019
Picky carnivorous plants?
RSS Blog as RSS Feed
Weather research site
Luftdruck (356m): 973.6 hPa
Lufttemperatur: 24.6 °C
Niederschlag: 0.0 mm/24h
Sonnenschein: <1 h/d
Wind (Höhe 17m): 6.4 km/h
Wind (Max.): 14.8 km/h
Windrichtung: S

...more
Globalstrahlung: 853 W/m²
Niederschlag: 0.0 mm/24h
Sonnenschein: 4 h/d
Wind (Höhe 32m): 0.0 km/h

...more
This site makes use of cookies More information

Lokale Wärmeinseln in Oberfranken als Refugialraum für thermophile Pflanzenarten

Wärmeinseln in Oberfranken

Von 12/2013 bis 12/2015

Mitarbeiter: Andreas Schweiger, Carl Beierkuhnlein

Die ökologischen Spuren des Klimawandels zeigen sich mittlerweile deutlich in Form des globalen Artenrückganges. Neben phänologischen Verschiebungen, einer verlängerter Vegetationsperiode und veränderter Populationsdynamik von Arten werden künftig auch Einflüsse auf die regionale Artenvielfalt erwartet.  Während mobile Arten wie viele Tiere in der Lage sein werden dem Klimawandel räumlich auszuweichen z.B. durch das Abwandern in kühlere Gebiete, sind Pflanzen den raschen Umweltveränderungen durch ihr räumlich begrenztes Ausbreitungsvermögen oft nicht gewachsen.

 

Zum Erhalt dieser immobilen Arten wird in der aktuellen Fachliteratur „assisted migration“, also das künstliche Umsiedeln potenziell gefährdeter Arten in zukünftig klimatisch passende Gebiete vorgeschlagen. Die Diskussion ist aber sehr kontrovers. Werden solche Umsiedlungen von einer Seite als nicht zu verantwortender menschlicher Eingriff angesehen, so stellen anderen die Verantwortungslosigkeit des Nicht-Handelns gegen besseres Wissen und das Akzeptieren regionalen Aussterbens heraus. Da bislang wenig über die ökologischen Auswirkungen derartiger Umsiedelungen auf die Lebensgemeinschaft der Wirtsgebiete bekannt ist, besteht akuter Forschungsbedarf um in Zukunft die richtigen, naturschutzfachlichen Entscheidungen treffen zu können. Auch für die Interpretation biogeographischer Modellierungsergebnisse erwarten wir neue Erkenntnisse. Artverbreitungsmodelle beziehen sich bislang nur auf die zonalen klimatischen Gegebenheiten. Sowohl mikroklimatische Sondersituationen als auch zeitlich begrenzte Fenster günstiger Klimabedingungen werden dabei noch ignoriert.

 

Bei potentiellen Ansiedelungsgebieten für gebietsfremde Arten besteht immer die Frage, inwieweit die lokalen Standortverhältnisse für diese Arten geeignet sind und welche Auswirkungen die Neuzugänge auf die lokalen Lebensgemeinschaften haben. Diese Frage kann am besten an bereits bestehenden Beständen gebietsfremder Arten in unserer Landschaft untersucht werden. Ein solches natürliches Experiment ist durch  thermisch begünstigte Sonderstandorte in Nordbayern gegeben, auf denen teilweise  bereits in den 1960ger Jahren zahlreiche gebietsfremde, wärmeliebende Pflanzenarten ausgebracht wurden.

 

Ziel des Projektes ist es, das Potential dieser thermisch begünstigten Standorte als Refugialraum für gebietsfremde, wärmeliebende Pflanzenarten zu bewerten. Hierzu sollen die aktuellen Bestände der Arten kartiert und mit Aufnahmen aus der Vergangenheit verglichen werden. Zudem sollen die lokalklimatischen Verhältnisse vor Ort mit Hilfe von Klima-Loggern charakterisiert werden.



Aktuelle Termine
Ökologisch-Botanischer Garten:
Sa. 21.07.2018
UNIKAT - Das Sommer- und Tanzevent der Universität im Ökologisch-Botanischen Garten, Tickets unter: www.unikat.uni-bayreuth.de
So. 22.07.2018
Literatur und Musik: Serenade am Victoria-Becken
Mi. 25.07.2018
Vom Korn zum Brot: Öffentliche Brotprüfung der Bäckerinnung Bayreuth Stadt und Land
Mi. 25.07.2018
Unser täglich Brot: Getreide und Pseudocerealien
So. 05.08.2018
Heitere Botanik: Pflanzen in Versen von K.H. Waggerl
Wetter Versuchsflächen
Luftdruck (356m): 969.9 hPa
Lufttemperatur: 17.0 °C
Niederschlag: 0.0 mm/24h
Sonnenschein: 10 h/d
Wind (Höhe 17m): 5.2 km/h
Wind (Max.): 9.7 km/h
Windrichtung: S

...mehr
Globalstrahlung: 1 W/m²
Lufttemperatur: 16.2 °C
Niederschlag: 2.5 mm/24h
Sonnenschein: 9 h/d
Wind (Höhe 32m): 6.8 km/h
Wind (Max.): 15.3 km/h

...mehr
Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. weitere Informationen