Studying in Bayreuth

Ecology and Environmental Sciences:
Studying in Bayreuth

Situated in scenic northern Bavaria, Bayreuth is an ideal location for studying ecology and environmental science. Ecology & Environmental Research has been a research priority at the University of Bayreuth since its founding in 1975. The town of Bayreuth is vibrant and varied, in large part thanks to the student population. The town is rich in culture and offers plenty of things to do in your spare time. The surrounding area boasts a diverse range of scenery to explore and charming restaurants to discover.

Overview of degree programmes:

Biology B.Sc.

Bio­logy B.Sc. (German): Biology is the science of life; it has an extremely broad range of research areas. The bachelor's programme offers the perfect opportunity to enter the exciting and far-reaching world of biology, from biochemical processes in microbes to the ecology of large mammals. A wide range of courses are offered; they revolve around the central areas of molecular biology and ecology.

Biodiversity M.Sc.

Bio­di­ver­sity und Eco­logy M.Sc. (German): Species and biotope conservation as well as decline in biodiversity have received more and more attention since the 1980s. The international master's programme Biodiversity & Ecology at the University of Bayreuth focuses on the origins, spread, ascertainment, and functional meaning of genetic populations, species, and ecosystems.

Geoecology M.Sc.

Geoecology B.Sc. and M.Sc. (German): Geo-Ecology is an environmental programme of study in the natural sciences in which the chemical, physical, and biological relationships between the living environment, air, water, soil, and rock are investigated and strategies for sustainability and environmental protection are developed. This programme of study was developed in Bayreuth and has a long tradition.

Studiengänge in Ökologie und Umweltforschung

Global Change Ecology M.Sc.: Global changes play a crucial role in political decisions in the 21st century. The international master's programme Global Change Ecology addresses these issues. The programme focuses on the natural sciences, however a strong link to the social sciences is also maintained.

Environmental Chemistry M.Sc.: International, interdisciplinary, and unique – these words best describe the new master’s programme Environmental Chemistry that will be taught entirely in English at the University of Bayreuth starting in Winter Semester 2016/17. It is geared towards bachelor's graduates who are interested in chemistry and environmental science and who would like to work in a global environment.

Environmental Geography M.Sc.

Environmental Geography M.Sc.: Environmental changes at any scale, from global to local, are of crucial importance to life on planet Earth. Physical geography is among the core disciplines addressing and examining these environmental changes. This English-taught master's programme is set to launch in Winter Semester 2016/17.

ECCH_GrueneLunge

Environment, Climate Change and Health (M.Sc.): Environmental and climate changes are related to substantial physical and mental hazards of humans. For an appropriate management of these difficulties, the study program aims at understanding the correlation between environment, climate change and health from a scientific and educational point of view.

Molecular Ecology M.Sc.

Mole­cular Eco­logy M.Sc. (German): Plants, animals, and human beings are capable of adapting to environmental conditions on a molecular level. Investigating these mechanisms along with the interdependency between organisms at a molecular level is the focus of this modern, research-oriented master's programme.

Studiengänge

Minor in Environmental Law (German): This minor provides students with a solid foundation in public law as it relates to environmental issues, with a focus on the areas of conservation law, climate protection law, soil protection law, water policy, and anti-pollution law.

Zusatzstudium Nachhaltigkeit

Minor in Sustainability (German): This minor provides students of all faculties with key qualifications in the field of sustainability and offers the opportunity to deepen knowledge in this area according to individual needs, and to apply the knowledge in a project module.

Schnittstellen andere Disziplinen

Related Disciplines (German): There are also other programmes of study at the University of Bayreuth that involve aspects of ecology and the environmental sciences in their curricula. These programmes include Food & Health Sciences (M.Sc.) and Sport, Business & Law (B.Sc./M.Sc.).


  • Teresa Vogl, Geoecology

    Teresa Vogl, Geoecology

    "I only knew for certain that I wanted to do sciences. In Geoecology, you can try every kind of science, and you can do it outdoors."

Studieren in Bayreuth

Öko­logie und Umwelt­wissen­schaften:
Studieren in Bay­reuth

Zwischen Fränkischer Schweiz und Fichtelgebirge gelegen ist Bayreuth ein idealer Ort für ein Studium im Bereich der Ökologie und Umweltforschung. Seit ihrer Gründung 1975 sind Ökologie und Umweltforschung ein Schwerpunkt der Universität Bayreuth. Nicht zuletzt durch die zahlreichen Studenten ist die Stadt Bayreuth vital und abwechslungsreich, die Vielzahl an Kultur- und Freizeitangeboten kann nur noch von der landschaftlichen Vielfalt und den unzähligen Einkehrmöglichkeiten der nahen Umgebung überboten werden.

Übersicht der Studiengänge mit Umweltbezug:

Biologie B.Sc.

Bio­logie B.Sc.: Die Biologie ist die Wissen­schaft des Lebens, ihr Forschungsbereich ist sehr weitläufig. Der Bachelorstudiengang bietet den perfekten Einstieg in die spannende und umfassende Welt der Biologie, von bio­che­misch­en Prozessen in Mikroben bis hin zur Ökologie von Großsäugern. Das Angebot ist breit ge­fäch­ert und richtet sich nach den beiden Kern­be­reich­en molekulare Biologie und Öko­logie.

Biodiversität M.Sc.

Bio­di­ver­sität und Öko­logie M.Sc.: Der Rückgang der Biodiversität, der Arten- und Biotopschutz werden seit den 80er Jahren mehr und mehr thematisiert. Der internationale Masterstudiengang Biodiversität und Ökologie an der Uni Bayreuth vermittelt Kenntnisse zur Entstehung, Verbreitung, Erfassung und funktionellen Bedeutung von genetischen Populationen, Arten und Ökosystemen.

Geoökologie M.Sc.

Geoökologie B.Sc. und M.Sc.: Die Geo­ökologie ist ein natur­wissen­schaft­licher Umwelt­studien­gang, in dem die chemischen, phy­si­ka­lischen und bio­logischen Zu­sam­men­hänge zwischen belebter Umwelt, Luft, Wasser, Boden und Gestein erforscht und daraus Strategien für Nachhaltigkeit und Umweltschutz erarbeitet werden. Der Studien­gang wurde in Bayreuth ent­wickelt und hat hier eine lange Tradition.

Studiengänge in Ökologie und Umweltforschung

Global Change Ecology M.Sc. (Englisch): Glo­bale Umweltveränderungen prägen die politischen An­forderungen des 21. Jahr­hunderts. Der inter­nationale Master­studiengang Global Change Ecology adressiert diese The­ma­tik. Der Schwer­punkt dieses Studien­ganges liegt im natur­wissen­schaft­lichen Bereich, jedoch wird eine starke Verknüpfung zu gesell­schafts­wissen­schaft­lichen Disziplinen gepflegt.

Environmental Chemistry M.Sc. (Englisch): International, inter­disziplinär und individuell – so präsentiert sich der neue, komplett englisch­sprachige Master­studien­gang Environmental Chemistry, der zum Winter­semester 2016/17 an der Universität Bayreuth startet. Er richtet sich an Bachelor­absolventen, die sich für Chemie und Umwelt­wissen­schaften interessieren und später global arbeiten wollen.

Environmental Geography M.Sc.

Environmental Geography M.Sc. (Englisch): Veränderungen der Umwelt in jeder Größenordnung, von global zu lokal, sind von entscheidender Bedeutung für das Leben auf dem Planeten Erde. Physische Geographie gehört zu den Kern­disziplinen, die diese Veränderungen der Umwelt untersuchen. Der englisch­sprachige Master­studien­gang startet zum Winter­semester 2016/17. 

Molekulare Ökologie M.Sc.

Mole­kulare Öko­logie M.Sc.: Pflanzen, Tiere und Menschen können sich auf molekularer Ebene an ihre Umweltbedingungen anpassen. Die Erforschung dieser Mechanismen sowie der Wechsel­wirkungen zwischen Organismen auf molekularer Ebene ist Inhalt dieses modernen forschungs­orientierten Master­studiengangs.

Umweltinformatik B.Sc. und M.Sc.: Im Studium der Umwelt­informatik wird eine Grund­aus­bildung in der Informatik mit An­wendungs­perspektiven aus der Umwelt- und Öko­system­forschung verbunden. Die Analyse und Bewertung von Umwelt- und von Öko­systemen steht im Zentrum dieses Anwendungs­gebietes.

Studiengänge

Kontextfach Umweltrecht: Das Zusatzstudium vermittelt den Studierenden die juristischen Grundkenntnisse im Öffentlichen Recht im Hinblick auf Umweltfragen, mit Fokus auf die Bereiche Naturschutz-, Klimaschutz-, Bodenschutz-, Wasserwirtschafts- und Immissionsschutzrecht.

Studiengänge in Ökologie und Umweltforschung

Weitere Disziplinen: Auch andere Studiengänge der Universität Bayreuth binden Inhalte aus Ökologie und Umweltwissenschaften in ihren Lehrplan ein. Zu diesen Studiengängen zählen Lebensmittel- und Gesundheitswissenschaften (M.Sc.) sowie Sportökonomie (B.Sc./M.Sc.).


  • Michael Riederer, Geoökologie

    Michael Riederer, Geoökologie

    "Die Stadt ist wie der Campus einfach praktisch. Großes Angebot, kleine Entfernung. Bayreuth passt sozusagen in die Hosentasche."