Studying in Bayreuth

Research Priority on Ecology and Environmental Sciences

Ecology and Environmental Sciences is a research area with tradition at the Universitz of Bayreuth. Scientists of three colleges, Biology/ Chemistry/ Geo sciences, Engineering and Law & Economics are involved in research, education and applied science. There is good reason for studying in this field of research at the University of Bayreuth.

The Ecological Botanical Gardens of the University of Bayreuth not only offers a place to relax and recreate, but its research and classes on the diversity and ecology of vegetation from the entire world allows ample insight into botanical research.

If you enjoy the outdoors, the natural beauty of the landscapes in the surroundings of Bayreuth will fascinate you. The escarpments of Franconian Jura, the Bohemian Massif with the Fichtelgebirge mountains and the Franconian fault offer exciting geology and recreation whereever you go.

The University of Bayreuth features excellent laboratories such as:

Students in Bachelor, Master and PhD programs alike have the opportunity to do research in projects all over the world.

Further information about the research priorities.


  • Armin Sigmund, Geoecology

    Armin Sigmund, Geoecology

    "The location of Bayreuth between Fichtelgebirge mountains and the Franconian Jura is a big plus of Bayreuth. Very close by there are marvellous places that for excursions and day trips."

Studieren in Bayreuth

Profilfeld Ökologie und Umweltwissenschaften

Das Profilfeld Ökologie und Umweltwissenschaften hat an der Universität Bayreuth eine lange Tradition. Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler dreier Fakultäten - Biologie, Chemie und Geowissenschaften, Ingenieurwissenschaften, Rechts- und Wirtschaftwissenschaften - sind daran in Forschung, Lehre und Anwendungen beteiligt. Es gibt also gute Argumente, gerade in Bayreuth im Bereich Ökologie und Umweltwissenschaften zu studieren!

Der Ökologisch Botanische Garten der Universität Bayreuth bietet nicht nur die Möglichkeit, einfach mal die "Seele baumeln zu lassen", sondern gibt in Lehre und Forschung Einblicke in die weltweite Vegetationvielfalt.

Das Bayreuther Umland hat für jeden Naturinteressierten viel zu bieten. Geologisch gesehen ist die Region durch ihre Nähe zum Süddeutschen Schichtstufenland, Böhmischen Massiv mit Fichtelgebirge und Grundgebirge in alle Himmelsrichtungen hochspannend.

Der Standort bietet Zugang zu exzellenten Laboratorien wie z.B.:

Studierende und Doktoranden haben viele Möglichkeiten zur Teilnahme an Forschungsprojekten weltweit.

Weitere Informationen zum Profilfeld gibt es hier.


  • Sebastian Maier, Geoökologie

    Sebastian Maier, Geoökologie

    "Die Geoökologie ist ein extrem vielseitiges Studienfach. Die breite Fächerung aus Naturwissenschaften, dem System Erde, Praktika und Exkursionen bietet einen sehr interessanten Mix. All diejenigen, die ein Interesse an diesem Mix haben, treffen mit der Geoökologie eine gute Wahl."