Studying in Bayreuth

Environmental Chemistry M.Sc.

Environmental Chemistry M.Sc.

Experts in the field of environmental chemistry are currently in high demand, and in view of ever-increasing industrialization and globalization, demand for such experts is expected to increase rapidly in the coming years. For this reason, environmental chemists have excellent job prospects all around the world.

“We recognized this trend and started laying the groundwork early for the launch of our new master’s programme ‘Environmental Chemistry’. It is held entirely in English, and it is geared towards graduates of bachelor’s programmes who are interested in chemistry and the environmental sciences and want to work internationally later on,” said Prof. Dr. Britta Planer-Friedrich, Professor of Environmental Geochemistry at the University of Bayreuth and programme advisor for the new degree programme. “In particular, we hope to attract a highly motivated, international group of young people to the University of Bayreuth to study environmental chemistry – young people who are from countries that are working hard to address environmental issues by examining causes and effects as well as those from countries that have not yet developed any solution approaches to counter their dramatic environmental problems,” said Prof. Planer-Friedrich.

The programme of study seeks to provide highly qualified students with the training they need to become experts and leaders in science, environmental protection, and political and financial consulting. On the basis of solid expertise, graduates must be able to discover new problems, analyse complex states of affairs, and develop flexible solution approaches.

In particular, international students from developing and emerging countries will enjoy excellent career prospects after graduation thanks to the growing pressure caused by industrialization and the corresponding demand for expertise in their home countries.

Websites of the Master program


  • Stefan Holzheu, Geoecology

    Stefan Holzheu, Geoecology

    "When I needed to relax, I hopped onto my road bike. In five minutes I was at the bottom of the Sophienberg. Well, and in Oberailsfeld I treated myself to a beer for approximately 1.80 Euros..."

Studieren in Bayreuth

Environmental Chemistry M.Sc.

Environmental Chemistry M.Sc.

Experten im Bereich Umweltchemie sind jetzt schon stark gefragt. Vor dem Hintergrund einer stetig wachsenden Industrialisierung sowie einer immer stärker werdenden globalen Vernetzung wird die Nachfrage nach Expertenwissen in den nächsten Jahren noch rasant steigen. Umweltchemiker haben somit ausgezeichnete Jobchancen – weltweit!

„Diese Entwicklung haben wir erkannt und schon frühzeitig die Weichen gestellt für den Start unseres neuen Masterstudiengangs ‚Environmental Chemistry‘. Er wird komplett in englischer Sprache gehalten und richtet sich an Bachelorabsolventen, die sich für Chemie und Umweltwissenschaften interessieren und später global arbeiten wollen“, sagt Prof. Dr. Britta Planer-Friedrich, die an der Universität Bayreuth die Professur für Umweltgeochemie innehat und den neuen Studiengang moderiert. „Insbesondere wollen wir hochmotivierte internationale junge Menschen für ein Umweltchemie-Studium an der Universität Bayreuth begeistern, die aus Ländern kommen, in denen Umweltprobleme bekannt sind und intensiv an der Bewältigung von Ursachen und Folgen gearbeitet wird, bis hin zu Ländern, in den sich Umweltprobleme besonders dramatisch entfalten, Lösungskonzepte aber noch völlig fehlen“, erläutert die Bayreuther Wissenschaftlerin.

Der Studiengang will hoch qualifizierte Führungskräfte für Wissenschaft, Umweltschutz, Politik- und Wirtschaftsberatung ausbilden. Diese müssen aus einer fundierten Sachkenntnis heraus in der Lage sein, neuartige Probleme zu erkennen, komplexe Sachverhalte zu analysieren und flexible Lösungsvorschläge auszuarbeiten.

Vor allem internationale Studierende, die aus Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern kommen, werden – aufgrund des wachsenden Industrialisierungsdrucks und dem damit einher gehenden Bedarf an Knowhow in ihren Heimatländern – hervorragende Berufsmöglichkeiten als Absolventen haben.

zu den Seiten des Masterstudiengangs


  • Jörg Hübner, Geoökologie

    Jörg Hübner, Geoökologie

    "Die Landschaft ist sehr abwechslungsreich und bietet für jeden Typ von Radfahrer genügend Raum."