Ad Fontes VI

AquaKlif

From 01/2019 to 12/2020

Principal Investigator: Carl Beierkuhnlein
Staff: Timothy Smith

Bavarian water systems are among the most important and biodiverse ecosystems in our landscape. However, they are also particularly sensitive to climate change. In the interdisciplinary project, AquaKlif project partners will investigate climatic stressors such as temperature, precipitation-related fine sediment input and varying runoff and their effects on water ecology and quality. The project will deliver solutions for the management of potential climate-related stressors to ensure the future health of aquatic ecosystems.

For more than 25 years, the Department of Biogeography at the University of Bayreuth has been studying spring water ecosystems in Upper Franconian forests as well as the characteristic plant communities growing around these swamp springs. The water chemistry of spring water - as well as certain "indicator" plant species - can be used to deduce ecological processes in the catchment area.

The aim of the subproject is to determine if and how the temperature of the springs and the indicator species growing there are related, and how the amount of rain and spring water affects the water temperature. Further spring locations in Steinwald, Oberpfälzer Wald and Bavarian Forest are included to characterize the climatic conditions of Bavarian forest landscapes.



Upcoming ...


BayCEER Colloquium:
Th. 2024-04-18
Survival, 'dormancy', and resuscitation of microorganisms in water-limited environments: insights from coastal salt flats and desert soil crusts
Th. 2024-04-18
The Canvas of Change: Creative Marketing for Behaviour Change, Sustainability and Social Good
BayCEER Short Courses:
Tu. 2024-04-16 now
Geographical information system and R environment for conservation biology
Ecological-Botanical Garden:
Fr. 2024-04-19
Führung | Gesteine im Ökologisch-Botanischen Garten
Su. 2024-04-21
Führung | Den ÖBG kennenlernen: Allgemeine Gartenführung
Weather research site
Luftdruck (356m): 962.6 hPa
Lufttemperatur: 9.1 °C
Niederschlag: 0.4 mm/24h
Sonnenschein: 1 h/d

...more
Lufttemperatur: 5.2 °C
Niederschlag: 3.5 mm/24h

...more
This site makes use of cookies More information

Ad Fontes VI

AquaKlif

Von 01/2019 bis 12/2020

Projektleiter: Carl Beierkuhnlein
Mitarbeiter: Timothy Smith

Die natürlichen Gewässer Bayerns zeichnen sich neben ihrer funktionellen Wichtigkeit und ihrem großen Artenreichtum auch durch ihre Sensibilität gegenüber Klimaveränderungen aus. Im interdisziplinären Projekt „AquaKlif“ werden klimatische Stressoren wie Temperatur, Niederschläge, daraus resultierende Sedimentverlagerungen sowie variierende Abflussbedingungen und deren Effekte auf die Gewässerökologie and -qualität untersucht. Um die zukünftige Gesundheit aquatischer Habitate zu fördern, werden Lösungen zu deren adäquatem Management vor dem Hintergrund klimabedingter Veränderungen entwickelt.

Der Lehrstuhl für Biogeografie der Universität Bayreuth forscht seit über 25 Jahren im Bereich der Quellökosysteme in den Wäldern Oberfrankens. Hierbei geht es neben den charakteristischen Pflanzengesellschaften an Quellen auch um chemische Eigenschaften des Wassers. Spezielle „Indikatorpflanzen“ geben Auskunft über ökologische Prozesse in den entsprechenden Wassereinzugsgebieten.

Das Ziel des Subprojekts ist die Feststellung des Zusammenhangs zwischen der Temperatur des Quellwassers und dem Vorkommen der Indikatorarten. Außerdem wird untersucht wie die Niederschlagsmenge die Quellwassertemperatur beeinflusst. Weitere Untersuchungsgebiete im Steinwald, dem Oberpfälzer Wald und dem Bayerischen Wald sind einbezogen, um die klimatischen Bedingungen in den Waldökosystemen Bayerns besser nachvollziehen zu können.



Aktuelle Termine


Antrittsvorlesung:
Mi. 22.05.2024
Funktionelle Pilzökologie: Diversität und Prozesse auf unterschiedlichen Skalen
BayCEER-Kolloquium:
Do. 06.06.2024
Tracking plant diversity dynamics on islands over thousands of years
Mo. 10.06.2024
Arsenic biogeochemistry from paddy soil to rice grain
Do. 13.06.2024
Seeing the forest beneath the trees: Mycorrhizal fungi as trait integrators of ecosystem processes
Ökologisch-Botanischer Garten:
Mi. 29.05.2024
Führung | "Grüne Apotheke: Heilpflanzen"
Wetter Versuchsflächen
Luftdruck (356m): 960.1 hPa
Lufttemperatur: 15.6 °C
Niederschlag: 10.5 mm/24h
Sonnenschein: <1 h/d

...mehr
Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. weitere Informationen