Towards a predictive understanding of how mycorrhizal types influence the decomposition of soil organic matter

DFG PA 2377/2-1

From 02/2018 to 01/2021

Principal Investigator: Johanna Pausch, Matthias Gube, Richard Phillips, Saskia Klink

Forests store huge amounts of terrestrial carbon (C) and remove billion of tons of anthropogenic C from the atmosphere by photosynthesis every year. Half of the assimilated C is allocated to roots, and a major part thereof is released into the soil via rhizodeposition. Despite the fact that rhizodeposition provokes the most dramatic changes in microbial-mediated processes in the soil, our understanding of the relevance of root-microbial interactions under natural conditions is limited. Hence, these interactions are hardly incorporated into ecosystem C models.

The present project aims to develop a predictive framework for understanding how tree species and their mycorrhizal associates couple C and nutrient cycles in central hardwood forests of North America.

Nearly all fine roots of trees are colonized by either arbuscular (AM) or ectomycorrhizal (ECM) fungi. In contrast to other soil microorganisms, mycorrhizal fungi are not limited in C as they are fueled with C from their autotrophic host. Hence, they have the potential to play a major role in nutrient mobilization through soil organic matter (SOM) decomposition.

We aim to gain a process-based understanding and a quantitative estimation of mycorrhizal-induced SOM decomposition. We assume that the mechanisms and the extent of SOM decomposition strongly vary between AM and ECM trees.

In this project, we will apply innovative interdisciplinary tools (isotope approaches coupled with microbiological techniques), and we will conduct studies on various temporal and spatial scales. On micro-scale, we intent to investigate binary links between tree roots and their associated fungi in microcosms. The capability of the AM and the ECM fungi for direct decomposition of SOM by extracellular enzyme production will be analyzed. Indirect decomposition of SOM through rhizosphere priming effects will be studied in rhizobox experiments. These experiments will also allow to determine the magnitude of priming as well as the mechanisms. Further, we will quantify the benefit in terms of nutrient uptake for the plant partner. On field scale, the mechanisms and the magnitude of mycorrhiza-induced C and nutrient cycling will be studied in a hardwood forest in Indiana with stands dominated by either AM or ECM trees.

This multidisciplinary and international project allows combining innovative techniques, taking advantage of long-term monitored well-established forests sites, and improving the scientific exchange between students and supervisors from the US and Germany. The project will significantly improve our knowledge on root-microbial interactions, and, thus, on vital ecosystem services of forests, such as carbon storage and nutrient retention.

Key words: Arbuscular mycorrhiza; Ectomycorrhiza; Rhizosphere priming effect; Soil organic matter turnover; Nutrient mobilization; Forests

    



Upcoming ...


BayCEER Colloquium:
Th. 2020-01-16
Ecosystem functional types and biome concepts
Ecological-Botanical Garden:
Su. 2020-01-05
Auf ins Neue! Winterspaziergang im ÖBG
Su. 2020-01-05
Konzert: Musikalischer Jahresbeginn mit den Rockin`Dinos
Su. 2020-01-19
Kastilien, Navarra und das Baskenland: Orchideen im Land Don Quijotes
Geographisches Kolloquium:
Tu. 2019-12-17
The meat of the Anthropocene: Food, capital and the globalisation of industrialised animal killing
BayCEER Blog
24.05.2019
Stoichiometric controls of C and N cycling
07.05.2019
Flying halfway across the globe to dig in the dirt – a research stay in Bloomington, USA
07.05.2019
EGU – interesting research and free coffee
16.04.2019
Picky carnivorous plants?
RSS Blog as RSS Feed
Weather research site
Luftdruck (356m): 964.8 hPa
Lufttemperatur: 10.0 °C
Niederschlag: 0.5 mm/24h
Sonnenschein: 4 h/d
Wind (Höhe 17m): 6.3 km/h
Wind (Max.): 11.2 km/h
Windrichtung: SO

...more
Globalstrahlung: 253 W/m²
Lufttemperatur: 6.3 °C
Niederschlag: 0.4 mm/24h
Sonnenschein: 1 h/d
Wind (Höhe 32m): 12.0 km/h

...more
This site makes use of cookies More information

Verständnis und Vorhersage zum Einfluss der Mykorrhiza-Arten auf den Abbau der organischen Bodensubstanz

DFG PA 2377/2-1

Von 02/2018 bis 01/2021

Projektleiter: Johanna Pausch, Matthias Gube, Richard Phillips, Saskia Klink

Wälder speichern große Mengen an terrestrischem Kohlenstoff (C) und entziehen der Atmosphäre jährlich mehrere Milliarden Tonnen an anthropogen emittiertem C durch Photosynthese. Die Hälfte des assimilierten C wird in die Pflanzenwurzeln verlagert, und ein Großteil davon wird wiederum durch Rhizodeposition in den Boden abgegeben. Obwohl die Rhizodeposition die mikrobiellen Prozesse im Boden ganz entscheidend beeinflusst, ist unser Verständnis der Bedeutung der Wurzel-Mikroorganismen-Interaktionen begrenzt. Folglich finden diese Interaktionen in Ökosystemmodellen zum C noch kaum Berücksichtigung.

Ziel des vorliegenden Projektes ist es, zu untersuchen wie Baumarten und ihre Mykorrhiza-Partner C- und Nährstoffkreisläufe in zentralen Laubwäldern Nordamerikas koppeln und auf dieser Basis einen Rahmen für Vorhersagen zu schaffen.

Nahezu alle Feinwurzeln der Bäume sind entweder mit arbuskulären Mykorrhizapilzen (AM) oder mit Ektomykorrhizapilzen (ECM) besiedelt. Im Gegensatz zu allen anderen Mikroorganismen im Boden sind Mykorrhizapilze nicht C-limitiert, da sie über ihren autotrophen Wirt mit C versorgt werden. Damit spielen sie eine potenziell wichtige Rolle bei der Nährstoffmobilisierung durch den Abbau der organischen Bodensubstanz (OBS).

Unser Ziel ist es, ein prozessbasiertes Verständnis und eine quantitative Abschätzung des durch Mykorrhizapilze induzierten OBS-Abbaus zu erlangen. Wir gehen davon aus, dass die Mechanismen und das Ausmaß des OBS-Abbaus stark zwischen AM- und ECM-Bäumen variieren.

In diesem Projekt werden wir innovative, interdisziplinäre Methoden (Isotopenansätze gekoppelt mit mikrobiologischen Techniken) anwenden und Untersuchungen auf verschiedenen zeitlichen und räumlichen Skalen durchführen. Auf der Mikroskala werden wir Verbindungen zwischen Baumwurzeln und ihren Wurzelpilzen untersuchen. In Mikrokosmen wird die Fähigkeit der AM- und ECM-Pilze, OBS direkt durch extrazelluläre Enzyme abzubauen, analysiert. In Rhizobox-Experimenten wird der indirekte Abbau der OBS durch Rhizosphären-Priming-Effekte untersucht. Mit diesen Experimenten wird es möglich sein, sowohl das Ausmaß der Priming-Effekte als auch die Mechanismen zu bestimmen. Darüber hinaus werden wir den Nutzen für die Wirtspflanze in Bezug auf die Nährstoffaufnahme quantifizieren. Auf Feldebene werden die Mechanismen und das Ausmaß der Mykorrhiza-induzierten C- und Nährstoffumsätze in einem von AM- oder ECM-Bäumen dominierten Laubwald in Indiana untersucht.

Dieses multidisziplinäre und internationale Projekt ermöglicht die Kombination von innovativen Techniken, bietet den Vorteil, in langzeitüberwachten und gut untersuchten Wäldern zu arbeiten und fördert den Austausch zwischen Studierenden und Betreuern aus den USA und Deutschland. Mit dem Projekt werden wir zu einem umfassenderen Verständnis zu Wurzel-Mikroorganismen-Interaktionen und damit zu grundlegenden Ökosystemdienstleistungen der Wälder, wie C-Speicherung und Nährstoffretention, beitragen.

Schlagwort: Arbuskuläre Mykorrhiza; Ektomykorrhiza; Rhizosphären-Priming-Effekt; Umsatz der organischen Bodensubstanz; Nährstoffmobilisierung; Wälder

     



Aktuelle Termine

Fr. 10.07.2020 aktuell
12th BayCEER Workshop 2020: "Call for Abstracts" geöffnet
BayCEER-Kolloquium:
Do. 22.10.2020
Extreme redox oscillations in freshwater re-flooded acid sulfate soil wetlands: Effects on Fe, S, and trace metals geochemical behavior
Do. 29.10.2020
Dissolved organic matter quality in differently managed forest ecosystems
Do. 05.11.2020
Signaling of rhizosphere microbiome: key for plant health, development and nutrition
Workshop:
Do. 29.10.2020
Neuer Termin: BayCEER Workshop 2020
BayCEER Blog
13.01.2020
Why Science Communication?
24.05.2019
Stoichiometric controls of C and N cycling
07.05.2019
Flying halfway across the globe to dig in the dirt – a research stay in Bloomington, USA
16.04.2019
Picky carnivorous plants?
RSS Blog als RSS Feed
Wetter Versuchsflächen
Luftdruck (356m): 968.2 hPa
Lufttemperatur: 17.9 °C
Niederschlag: 0.0 mm/24h
Sonnenschein: <1 h/d
Wind (Höhe 17m): 9.7 km/h
Wind (Max.): 22.0 km/h
Windrichtung: NO

...mehr
Globalstrahlung: 587 W/m²
Lufttemperatur: 14.2 °C
Niederschlag: 0.2 mm/24h
Sonnenschein: <1 h/d
Wind (Höhe 32m): 0.0 km/h

...mehr
Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. weitere Informationen