The Doctoral Thesis

In the Regulations of BayNAT the requirements and formatting of the doctoral thesis, "dissertation", is outlined in § 12 and in the BayNAT doctoral Regulations under item 6.  It has to be an independent scientific achievement of the doctoral student with new insights that help to find answers to scientific questions.

Dissertation Formats

A dissertation may be designed in different formats:

  1. Monograph
    In this case the thesis is a contiunously written act.
     

  2. Cumulative Dissertation
    Several scientific papers of a candidate are combined for the dissertation. A detailed summary (synopsis) presents the relation between the single papers as well as the candidate's own contribution. Within PEER this format is willingly accepted and no further agreement of the steering committee is needed (see official Regulations).
    The single papers (manuscripts) have to be at least in a state that is appropriate for submission.

    For later publication of a cumulative dissertation the appropriate legitimations have to be obtained.

The date of submission of the dissertation has to be arranged with the mentorate.


Instructions for Structure and Completion:

Detailed instructions for the thesis structure (.doc)

Recommendation how to declare the own contribution (PDF)

Language: German or English are standard, the abstract has to be written in both languages.

Contents: The literature used as well as other resources have to be listed completely; sections that were taken literally or almost literally from literature (citations) have to be marked. The pagination has to be continuous.

Printing: With the application for admission to the doctoral exam six hardback copies of the thesis in DIN A4 format have to be submitted (for the later on printed publication the DIN A5 format can be used preferentially).

Signature: Do not forget!

 

 

Links

  • Writing Centre at the University of Bayreuth
  • Plagiarism checker - an externel automatic scanning tool provided by the University of Bayreuth for students to review their written documents for plagiarism (University email address needed)
This site makes use of cookies More information

Die Doktorarbeit

Die Form (Monographie oder kumulativ) und Struktur (Titelblatt, Zusammenfassung oder elektronische Fassung) der Dissertation wird vor allem in der Promotionsordnung der BayNAT (§ 12) und in der Ordnung von PEER (6.Form der Dissertation, S.30) behandelt. Sie muss eine selbständige wissenschaftliche Leistung der Promovierenden sein und durch neue Erkenntnisse zur Lösung von wissenschaftlichen Fragen beitragen.

 

Dissertations-Varianten

Eine Dissertation kann in verschiedenen Formaten verfasst werden:

  1. Monographie
    Die Dissertation ist hier ein fortlaufend geschriebenes Werk.
     

  2. Kumulative Dissertation
    Mehrere Einzelarbeiten (Manuskripte zur Publikation in wissenschaftlichen Journals) einer/eines Promovierenden werden zu einer Dissertationsschrift zusammengefasst. In einer ausführlichen Zusammenfassung wird eine Art "Klammer", die die Verbindung zwischen den einzelnen Manuskripten sowie den Eigenanteil der Promovierenden dargestellt. In PEER ist dieses Format gern gesehen und erfordert keine weitere Genehmigung des Leitungsgremium (siehe Ordnungstexte).
    Die Einzelarbeiten müssen mindestens in der zur Einreichung in Wissenschaftsjournals fertiggestellten Form vorliegen.

    Wer eine kumulative Dissertation später in elektronischer Form veröffentlichen will, muss auf ausreichende Rechte dazu achten.

 

Der Zeitpunkt der Einreichung der Dissertation ist mit dem Mentorat abzusprechen.


Hinweise zu Struktur und Fertigstellung:

Ausführliche Hinweise zur Struktur der Dissertation (.doc)

Empfehlung zur Formulierung des Eigenanteils (PDF)

Sprache: Deutsch oder Englisch sind der Standard, die Zusammenfassung muss in beiden Sprachen verfasst werden.

Inhalt: Die benutzte Literatur sowie sonstige Hilfsquellen sind vollständig anzugeben; wörtlich oder nahezu wörtlich dem Schrifttum entnommene Stellen (Zitate) sind kenntlich zu machen. Fortlaufende Seitenzahlen werden verlangt.

Druck: Bei der Einreichung der Dissertation werden sechs Exemplare der Arbeit im DIN A4-Format gebunden eingereicht (bei der späteren Veröffentlichung im Druckformat kann das Format auf DIN A5 geändert werden).

Unterschrift: Nicht vergessen!

 

Links

Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. weitere Informationen