Supervision by the Mentoring Committee

The Doctoral Regulations of BayNAT describe the details of the mentoring committee in § 6 and the PEER Regulations (BayNAT regulations) under item 5 (2) on page 28.

The mentors for the thesis project are already proposed at the time of registration for the doctoral programme. Applicants, therefore, should as a first step contact potential mentors to discuss their professional qualification and their willingness to participate in the thesis project. Officially the director of BayNAT appoints the mentoring committee after the application has been accepted.

Composition

As a rule the mentoring committee consists of three scientists, who are able to professionally supervise the research project from different view points.

  • The supervisor of the planned thesis project ("thesis reviewer") has to be a professor of the graduate school according to  Art. 2 Abs. 1 Nr. 1 BayHSchPG, i.e. an authorized examiner  (professor, junior professor, habilitated person or in the process of habilitation). He or she is the chair of the mentoring committee.

  • Further mentors may be authorized examiners or (max. one) non-authorized examiners but members of BayNAT with a doctoral degree (assistants, postdocs).

  • At least two members of the mentoring committee should take part in the doctoral programme PEER at the University of Bayreuth. Upon request to the director, who has to agree on admission, it is possible to have an external mentor. Members of BayNAT from other research fields (mathematics, physics, chemistry, computer sciences, geography ...) are not considered as "external".


If a mentor cannot be part of the mentoring committee any more, the director will nominate (by request of the doctoral student in accordance with the mentorate) a substitute member. The Regulations do not  demand for presenting the reasons for the retreat from the mentoring committee.

Tasks

You need to draft a Supervisory Agreement with the supervisor. It is also a precondition to get funding within the UBT Graduate School.

One task of the mentoring committee is to give advice to the doctoral student with respect to research. This is formally realized by discussing the research plan and the annual reports required for the doctoral programme. But also in daily research routine the mentors - in particular the supervisor - should be available for discussing questions and problems.

The mentoring committee gives advice with regard to selecting the required achievements like courses, possible stays abroad and conferences. It takes care, that a balanced selection is chosen from the catalogue of achievements offered within the graduate school in order to promote the candidate's professional and so-called "key skills".
The achievements are formally proposed by the mentorate (resp. the supervisor) at the admission to the doctoral exam and confirmed by the steering committee.

The mentoring committee also supervises the doctoral student during the writing process of the thesis. The target date to submit the thesis should be arranged in agreement with the mentoring committee.

The doctoral student and the mentoring committee will meet regularly - it is reasonable to do so at least once per semester.

This site makes use of cookies More information

Betreuung durch das Mentorat

Die Promotionsordnung der BayNAT behandelt das Mentorat in § 6 und ist in der Ordnung von PEER (IV. Ökologie und Umweltforschung) unter Punkt 5 (2) auf S.28 zu finden.

Die Mentoren und/oder Mentorinnen für das Promotionsprojekt werden bereits bei der Aufnahme in das Programm vorgeschlagen. Bewerber*innen sollten sich daher vorab mit potentiellen Mentoren und Mentorinnen in Verbindung setzen, um ihre Bereitschaft und fachliche Eignung für das Vorhaben abzusprechen. Offiziell bestellt der BayNAT-Direktor nach erfolgreicher Aufnahme das Mentorat.

Zusammensetzung

Das Mentorat besteht in der Regel aus drei Wissenschaftlerinnen/Wissenschaftlern, die das Forschungsthema aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln fachlich betreuen können.

  • Der Betreuer/die Betreuerin der geplanten Promotionsarbeit ("Gutachter*in der Dissertation") muss prüfungsberechtigter Hochschullehrer*in der Graduiertenschule sein (Professor*innen, Junioprofessor*innen, Habilitierte und im Habilitations-Verfahren Stehende). Er/Sie übernimmt in der Regel den Vorsitz des Mentorats.

  • Als weitere Mentorinnen/Mentoren kommen prüfungsberechtigte und (maximal ein) nicht prüfungsberechtigtes promoviertes Mitglied in BayNAT (Assistenten, PostDocs) in Frage.

  • Mindestens zwei Mitglieder sollen dem Promotionsprogramm PEER an der Universität Bayreuth angehören. Eine/r davon muss Univ.-Professor*in an der UBT sein (Art. 2 Abs. 1 Nr. 1 BayHSchPG, kein/e Juniorprofessor*in).

  • Ein nicht der BayNAT angehörende(r) externe Mentorin/externer Mentor ist auf Antrag bei dem/der Direktor*in möglich, der über die Zulassung entscheidet. Mitglieder der BayNAT aus anderen Fachbereichen (Mathe, Physik, Chemie, Informatik, Geographie...) gelten hier nicht als "extern".

Kann ein/e Mentor*in die Arbeit nicht mehr betreuen, so benennt der/die Direktor*in (auf Vorschlag des Promovierenden nach Abstimmung mit dem Mentorat) ein Ersatzmitglied. Die Ordnung lässt die Gründe für den Rückzug aus dem Mentorat offen.

Aufgaben

Beispiel Betreuungsvereinbarung in BayNAT (.doc)

Mit dem/der Betreuer*in ist eine "Betreuungsvereinbarung" abzuschließen. Für die Förderung im Rahmen der UBT Graduate School ist diese ebenfalls verpflichtend (Beispiel siehe oben).

Eine Aufgabe des Mentorats ist die Beratung der/des Promovierenden in der Forschung. Umgesetzt wird dies formell durch die Diskussion des im Programm vorgesehenen Forschungsplans und der jährlichen Zwischenberichte. Aber auch im ungeregelten Forschungsalltag stehen die Mentoren/Mentorinnen - insbesondere der/die Betreuer*in der Arbeit - für Fragen und Probleme zur Verfügung.

Hilfestellung gibt das Mentorat außerdem bei der Auswahl von Leistungen wie Lehrveranstaltungen, möglichen Auslandsaufenthalten und Konferenzen. Es trägt Sorge, dass eine ausgewogene Mischung aus dem im Promotionsprogramm geregelten Leistungskatalog zusammengestellt wird, um sowohl fachliche
Kompetenzen als auch die Verbesserung der so genannten „Schlüsselkompetenzen“ zu fördern.
Die Leistungen werden durch das Mentorat (bzw. den/die Betreuer*in) bei der Zulassung zur Promotionsprüfung formell vorgeschlagen und durch das Leitungsgremium bestätigt.

Das Mentorat betreut die/den Promovierende*n auch beim Verfassen der Dissertation. Der Zeitpunkt der Einreichung der Dissertation sollte mit dem Mentorat abgesprochen werden.

Promovierende*r und Mentorinnen/Mentoren treffen sich dazu regelmäßig - sinnvollerweise mindestens einmal im Semester. 

Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. weitere Informationen