Structure of the Doctoral Programme

The doctoral studies can be started at any time. The doctoral student is supported by three mentors who guide the scientific work, give advice on the individual academic training programme, and help to introduce the candidate to the scientific community.

Within the first six months of the doctoral studies the candidate drafts a research plan which serves as an outline of the thesis project. During the course of the doctoral studies the candidate annually reports about the progress of his or her research project. The scientific work within the research project is the principal item of the doctoral education.

The research work is complemented by an individual training programme which is adapted to the individual skills and needs of the candidate as well as to the demands of the doctoral project. By actively participating in courses of the accompanying programme the candidate gains at least 30 credit points which are required for admission to the doctoral examination procedure.

The doctoral programme is meant to support the young scientists’ ability to do independent research work, to improve their skills in scientific communication, and to enable them to take over responsible positions in education, science, industry, and society.

This site makes use of cookies More information

Ablauf und Inhalte des Promotionsprogramms

Das Promotionsstudium kann jederzeit aufgenommen werden und ist in der Regel auf sechs Semester ausgelegt. Der Doktorand wird darin von drei Mentoren betreut, die ihn in seiner Forschungsarbeit anleiten, bei der Auswahl des Trainingsprogramms beraten und zur Vernetzung mit der jeweiligen Forschungs-Community beitragen.

Innerhalb des ersten halben Jahrs erarbeitet der Doktorand einen Forschungsplan, der als Leitfaden für die Forschungsarbeit dient. Im weiteren Verlauf des Promotionsstudiums berichtet der Promovierende jährlich über den Fortgang des Projekts. Die wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten zum Forschungsvorhaben bilden das Kernstück des Promotionsprogramms und den Inhalt der Dissertation.

Begleitend zur eigentlichen Forschungsarbeit absolviert jeder Doktorand ein individuelles Programm verschiedener Leistungen, das auf die jeweiligen Fähigkeiten und Bedürfnisse sowie die Erfordernisse des Promotionsprojekts ausgerichtet sein soll. Im Laufe der Zeit werden so die für die Zulassung zur Promotion notwendigen 30 Leistungspunkte gesammelt.

Das Programm soll die Ausbildung der Doktoranden zu selbständiger Forschung und zu wissenschaftlicher Kommunikation unterstützen und sie befähigen, verantwortliche Tätigkeiten in Ausbildung, Forschung, Industrie und Gesellschaft zu übernehmen.