The Colloquium / Doctoral Exam

The Colloquium is a scientific debate about the subject of the dissertation and relating fields. It will last at least 60 minutes and 120 minutes at most including a scientific lecture of about 20 minutes about the dissertation with a following detailed discussion.

The colloquium is a public session open for university members, but the candidate may decide within one week after the written invitation that the public should be excluded.

The chair of the examination board moderates the colloquium, he also has to write the protocol ("Niederschrift"). It makes sense to clarify the use of media with the chairman in advance - in non-public exams the lecture can be partly illustrated with posters and writing on a blackboard instead of the usual digital presentation.

Grading

The grading of the colloquium takes place after a common, non-public debate of the examiners. If the members of the examination board cannot agree on a uniform grading, the grade is calculated as the arithmetic average of the respective singular grades.

In order to pass the colloquium, a grade of 3.0 or better has to be achieved. Otherwise, if you fail the doctoral exam there is the possibility to retry the colloquium within a year after a formel application.

The overall doctoral grade is calculated as the sum of the double weighted dissertation grade and the single weighted colloqium grade divided by 3. The chair of the examination board will announce the doctoral grade to the candidate after the colloquium.

 

Table of grades:

0 with distinction      summa cum laude
0,1 bis 1,5    very good magna cum laude
1,6 bis 2,5 good cum laude
2,6 bis 3,0 satisfying rite

 

This site makes use of cookies More information

Das Kolloquium / Doktorprüfung

Das Kolloquium ist eine wissenschaftliche Aussprache zum Thema der Dissertation und verwandter Fachgebiete. Es dauert mindestens 60 und maximal 120 Minuten und besteht aus einem wissenschaftlichen Vortrag von ca. 20-30 Minuten über die Dissertation und einer ausführlichen Diskussion im Anschluss.

Die Universitätsöffentlichkeit ist zum Kolloquium zugelassen, außer die/der Promovierende*r bestimmt innerhalb einer Woche nach der schriftlichen Einladung, dass die Öffentlichkeit ausgeschlossen werden soll.

Die/Der Vorsitzende des Prüfungsausschusses leitet das Kolloquium, sie/er verfasst außerdem die "Niederschrift" (das Protokoll). Es ist sinnvoll, mit der/dem Vorsitzenden die Verwendung von Medien vorab zu klären - in nicht öffentlichen Prüfungen kann der Vortrag zum Teil mit Postern und/oder Tafelanschrieben anstatt mit den gewohnten PowerPoint-Folien illustriert werden.


Benotung

Die Benotung des Kolloquiums erfolgt nach nicht öffentlicher Aussprache unter den Prüfern. Wenn sich die Mitglieder des Prüfungsausschusses nicht auf eine einheitliche Bewertung einigen können, so errechnet sich die Note als arithmetisches Mittel der entsprechenden Einzelnoten.

Um das Kolloquium zu bestehen, muss mindestens die Note 3,0 erreicht werden. Andernfalls kann innerhalb eines Jahres nach Mitteilung des Nichtbestehens eine Wiederholung schriftlich beantragt werden.

Die Gesamtnote der Promotion ergibt sich aus der Summe der doppelt gewichteten Note der Dissertation und der einfachen Note des Kolloquiums geteilt durch 3. Sie wird der/dem Promovierenden nach dem Kolloquium von der/dem Vorsitzenden des Prüfungsausschusses mündlich eröffnet.

 

Notenschema:

0 mit Auszeichnung      summa cum laude
0,1 bis 1,5    sehr gut magna cum laude
1,6 bis 2,5 gut cum laude
2,6 bis 3,0 befriedigend rite
Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies. weitere Informationen